You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Most Voted Witnesses In The Last 3 & 6 Months! This Is What Witness Vote Expiry/Decay Would Look Like (Kinda)

in #steem6 years ago

That would so mix up things.. And be way better for the community!

Sort:  

It would probably force newer, popular witnesses into a steep learning curve to fix their servers quickly and would mean that the top 20 might change more often - but yes, that would theoretically be a good thing. I think other changes are needed to keep the balance of this though, I will post about that soon.

The fact that you are putting information out there in a way that may not have been considered before is absolutely fantastic.

The dynamics of this place are far too great to ignore any of the relevant stats out there and anything that gets people thinking in a proactive and open minded manner is definitely worth the effort.

I am sure that many of these figures will change in the next six months, hence proving the daily changes that go on here in all fields of this endeavour.

Big thumbs up.

Thanks Jack, I'm looking currently at how to best integrate this data into Steem Ocean to make it a list that can be checked at will. I also now have what I need to do a great deal of things via code on Steem - including building entire UIs and I have a business plan for one mostly finished from months ago... So expect more soon!

Btw, I have a spare witness vote and will gladly drop it your way - I notice you are voting for asbear, who hasn't upgraded since before HF20, so if you would support me too in our quest to improve things here it would be much appreciated.

tbh I'm not sure what is up with asbear, I am actually waiting to hear it from him directly, so that I don't do anything based upon 'appearance only'.

I respect all his efforts to date here on Steem, especially in the Korean community and a lot more than just that, but his efforts there have helped make it one of the most vibrant and high speed communities adding value to our blockchain.

I do support you in more than one way, you probably know that and I often recommend your name in private chats, simply because I like the way you think and work at things from different angles. Not to mention the obvious, your dedication to this endeavour as a whole.

So nhf, I won't be doing any changes tomy witness votes any time soon, just recently my wife (as per my recommendation) agreed to vote for lower ranking witnesses and gave the OK for me to use our family savings account here to vote on lower ranking witnesses. As a show of consolidation and support to diversity among people in the witness scene. Which is kinda in line with what we are talking about here too.

Rest assured, when I get that opportunity to throw a vote your way it will be there and it won't be disrupting my campaign in any way.

Call me "old school", but I hate unvoting someone unless it is really necessary, I always want to give a person the extra chance, the opportunity to fix whatever it is that would be a reason to unvote them. We are all humans and we all have personal issues (LIFE) so maybe I'm just too soft from that angle when it comes to business here.

Ok fair enough - no problem.

My guess:
Nothing will change.
In 6 months the T20 will look the same, maybe max 3 new ones.

Everything that can be done to clean things up and keep the system balanced should be done!

I was talking in reference to the lists above.
As for the Top20, sure, as long as things stay the way they are, not much shall change. Fully agree with you on that.

Likewise, one of the big issues that needs to be mentioned is "dead voters".

Although their SP (MV) may be 'minute' but it does add up and their votes add to the overall stats in which the overall number of voters voting on certain witnesses is literally misleading and gives voters a false impression.

There are literally thousands of vote cast by people who have not had any transactions what so ever on the blockchain in over six months.

These figures are disturbing and literally they alone present enough justification from all angles of it to introduce a decaying (fixed term) vote.

I voiced my concerns and I dropped from #91 to #152 now.
That tells me everything..

There should be no reason for anyone to get disturbed about an open minded conversation on topics such as the goods and bads of a 'decaying' (fixed term) vote.

It is all in the best interests of making Steem become everything it can be, no matter what arguments or logical conclusions get presented along the way.

I follow many a conversation on Github, in which I personally feel as if I would get ignored by many of the 'longer standing contributors', but none the less I do read and follow what is being said, when it interests me. Again, my bad for not getting involved directly, because I am sure that every contribution can be looked upon in a positive way as long as the persons goals are to make Steem become the dream.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42