[Thoughts] Keep Your Eyes on the Prize: STEEM POWER

in #steem7 years ago

Eye on the Prize: STEEM POWER

Greetings fellow Steemians,

These are certainly interesting times. With SBD (STEEM backed dollars) around $6.00 USD and STEEM around $1.70 USD, things are looking optimistic for the platform.

Crazy SBD

As has been mentioned before, having SBD valued so many times higher than $1.00 is an anomaly that breaks the purpose off SBD which is supposed to be pegged at $1.00. Pegged as in "doesn't move".


Pegged is supped to mean "doesn't move".

But welcome to the new STEEMCONOMY. Where your dollar is worth 6 and your target is worth less than 2.

We have an amazing opportunity here.

This is where we use the 50/50 payout on EVERYTHING!

When we receive payouts on our posts and comments, it's in our best interest to receive it split between SBD and STEEM POWER, since you can use that SBD to purchase more STEEM.

Shouldn't we HODL SBD?

I can't say... perhaps SBD will continue to rise and it would be best to hold on to SBD and ride it up.

But if you asked my advice (and you didn't and shouldn't since I'm not a professional financial adviser), I would take advantage of the high SBD price by SELLING SBD immediately for STEEM.

I believe that this abnormal (and ridiculous) SBD price is temporary and a day is coming where it is back to the boring $1.00 again. If that's the case, we should harbor the high SBD value into something else.

The goal should be acquiring STEEM POWER

We all want to advance from #redfish to #minnow to #dolphin to #whale. Right? The way to do this is to trade our valuable SBD for STEEM (with no transaction fees) and POWER UP!


HODL STEEM POWER and have it work for you!

Reasons for investing in more STEEM POWER

Here is the short list of why you would want higher STEEM POWER: In short... aquisitions!

You acquire greater upvote influence.

When you click the upvote chevron and you're used to $0.00, with enough STEEM POWER you could offer $0.01, or $0.02. That doesn't seem like much, but with SBD so high, the actual real-world pay out for the recipient is much higher.

And it feels better offering at least a few cents rather than next to nothing for a quality post.

You acquire a vote slider

You may notice that when you upvote a lot of posts and comments that the value drops very quickly. If you're like me and you upvote all over the place, you will find your voting power drained down to almost worthless.

Once you make it to the 480 STEEM POWER level, the platform rewards you with a vote slider! This allows you to upvote more posts without draining your voting power quickly.

You acquire a reputation that attracts more followers.

When someone decides to follow your blog, it's not usually because of your STEEM POWER or upvote value... but it does play a role sometimes. Some Steemians do look for things like this.

You acquire a greater status on the blockchain.

Users are categorized by aquatic animals, beginning with redfish and growing up to whale. If you were in the fortunate position of holding on to SBD for this moment, you could purchase greater status by trading SBD for STEEM and POWER UP!

An Example of Status Upgrades


http://steemitboard.com/

It's taken 143 blog posts to acquire 1.5M vests which is still "minnow" status. At the current rate of growth at 50/50, I would need to create 763 additional posts to reach "Dolphin" status of 10.0M vests. That is about 4100 STEEM POWER. That could be purchased right now for $684.26 SBD. That means for every $0.89 SBD I convert to STEEM POWER, it's ONE less blog post I would need to write to reach dolphin status.

Conclusion

I hope I've made the case for selling SBD for STEEM and STEEM POWER. This is a great opportunity to JUMP up in status on steemit while the getting is good. Choose your goals, do the math. Make wise decisions. Take advantage of the moment.

Steem on!

@ironshield

Image Source
Image Source
Image Source

Sort:  

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a Steemit community dedicated to supporting and promoting engagement among its members!

This post has been featured in Curation With Style: The Best of the Unmentionables Ep. 36 (15/12/17)!

Interested in our group? Click the banner below to apply to join, or check out our account @unmentionable!

Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

This is in fact a great opportunity appearing in front of us.

I have been buying as much Steem as I can whenever I am having SBD XD

Best practice right now. Buy up STEEM whenever SBD comes to you. @ironshield

Amen. While I'm not actually following your advice since we have some other goals we are working on personally, I think you are spot on. I just traded 0.749 SBD for 5.000 STEEM, that's borderline crazy to me.

The important thing is to set your goals and work towards accomplishing them. @ironshield

I tried trading some SBD for steem so I could power up (through the market option) and it wouldnt let me BUY.

update

I just bought 5.15 steem with .760 SBD. That good?

That's an unheard of price. If you did that a few weeks ago, you'd only get about .76 STEEM and it would be worth less than it is now. Don't forget to POWER UP! @ironshield

I powered up immediately!

HMMMM! I'm going to have to look at my wallet and see if I even have anything of worth. Thanks for the post. With every post about steem and SBD I gain in my understanding!

You were right using the "MARKET" tool. It's the best way to acquire STEEM from your SBD. @ironshield

At first i converted 4 SBD but then I read a steemit that advised the "market" option so i tried it and was surprised! learning lots! have you heard about sola? Its like twitter and instagram had a baby that pays you! haha

@ironshield, you said you are not a financial adviser but you advise greatly. we are opportune that steemit earning is not one direction like other currencies, we can trade SBD for STEEM which will grow and also earn us more reward. thanks for your advice to start powering up. Still @theheralds i really missed your post.
Thank you.gif

You're welcome for the advice, I hope we find in the long-run that STEEM is the better investment. I would have thought that SBD worth $3.00 was as high as it would ever go... i was wrong about that. So I reserve the right to be wrong again. :-)

Powering up is always a good option however, it's just a matter of timing. @ironshield

I am for dang sure! I love it here!

It's a fun platform for sure. I'm enjoying it too! @ironshield

Good advice @ironshield, am also trying to rack up steem power with sbd's right now.

Good day and happy sunday.

Thank you! Have a great day today! @ironshield

SBD price has been , i think korean market is one of the factor.

Thank you South Koreans! I wonder why the attraction towards SBD instead of plain STEEM? @ironshield

Here's something I've been wondering about...Is there any value is buying Steem and holding it there? Is there ever a good time to sell it for SBD?

The value of purchasing STEEM (using 'real money') is to speculate that the value of STEEM will increase and you could sell it at a profit.

The best time to sell STEEM for SBD is when STEEM is valued high and SBD is valued low. In theory, SBD should go back to 'normal' which is around $1.00. That is when it's a good time to sell STEEM for SBD. @ironshield

I think you should, when the time comes to do that, post about it. That way, those of us who's brains melt when we try to figure this out have a fighting chance at surviving this crypto-trip! 😏

This is easily the best post that I have read this morning.

STEEM POWER IS ALWAYS the best goal for the long run.

I don't wanna be a minnow forever bro.

You killed this article further with this superb analysis:

It's taken 143 blog posts to acquire 1.5M vests which is still "minnow" status. At the current rate of growth at 50/50, I would need to create 763 additional posts to reach "Dolphin" status of 10.0M vests. That is about 4100 STEEM POWER. That could be purchased right now for $684.26 SBD. That means for every $0.89 SBD I convert to STEEM POWER, it's ONE less blog post I would need to write to reach dolphin status.

Thanks for sharing!

Cheers!

Glad you enjoyed the post. Calculating how many posts I would need to reach "dolphin" was a fascinating exercise. Calculating how much SBD would get me there was also interesting. @ironshield

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61728.21
ETH 2680.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56