You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did You Know: When you post using eSteem, 5% of rewards are disbursed to @esteemapp? Also, Self Voting Witnesses - a slippery slope, or a level playing field?

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I think it would have been prudent to give 24 hours for good-karma to have provided a response before outing him on this issue... if it is indeed "outing" anything.

Did you try to contact him?

Surely there must be an option somewhere or a notification about this function.

I don't have this app on my phone yet. I am mostly interested in @good-karma response, so I've attempted to notify him so he may be aware of this post and offer a comment.

Sort:  

I'd hardly call this an "outing", it's been public knowledge for a long time, just not widely enough probably and there's no in app message about it.

I agree, there should be an in-app message about it.

A warning? about a concealed diversion of rewards from posts made with the app? To build a damage control campaign?

Uh uh.

By the way, also it seems that chainbb could be doing this also.

Also, beneficiaries can be set on comments. I haven't looked at that.

https://steemd.com/@esteemapp to see all those benefactor rewards going in.

Not sure how long this is going on for but there is over 5000 steem in @esteemapp. There is upvotes going out from it as well. It looks like an autovote list to me.

Screenshot_20170716-022114.png

No warning in the interface.

ChainBB does 15% and openly announced it. I'm totally in favor of these uses though I agree with you that upfront notification should be better and more prominent. At that point the market will decide what % it will bear to use the features in a given app or community.

Caveat Emptor eh? Skating on thin ice would be how I would describe it.

Good that chainbb makes it obvious. It looks pretty obvious to me, after looking at https://steemd.com/@esteemapp that this pool of SP earned this way is being used to fund some kind of vote buying scheme.

I wouldn't call it vote buying. It's a "rewards program" of sorts to encourage use of the app. Again, many won't seek out and read blog posts, so making info more accessible is a good cause, but it is disclosed and not shady in my opinion.

I didn't see an option at any stage in the process that gave fair notification that I was joining this scheme. Users cannot be expected to read what are often TL;DR 'features' posts from @good-karma about it.

There is getting to be far too many opt out things going on in this system, it's starting to remind me of the internet in the late 90s, with a bazillion popovers, popups, pop unders, sideloads, hijacks, flashy things, and drivebys... I had 6 bots 'greet' and 'grease' my new @elfspice account last week. Only one of the operators actually noticed that I wrote in the post that I am the very same as @l0k1's owner also.

The longer I sit in #general at steemit.chat. the more convinced I am there is one or more sweatshops employing cheap labor to attempt to milk the Steem blockchain. Sure, maybe now, only 9.3% or so can be involved in this syphon, but how long can stakeholders in this system expect to be happy about as much as 1% of their stakes going towards self voters, warning-free rewards redistribution schemes, and I didn't even get to vote buying and circle jerks and the extremely slanted floor in the witness chamber...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42