You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: People Rank - Using Page Rank Algorithm for Better Curation and Rewards

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I don't think the "$ value of a post" should be visible until payout time. Let it be a mystery.

Instead, we have people scanning values of posts, and soon as a post is at $50 or $100, all of a sudden everyone starts upvoting the post so they have a better chance at making money as a curator.

That's the current problem with steemit. Even if these values are in the blockchain, we don't need to make the problem worse via the gui by showing the dollar value of a post before payout.

Sort:  

I don't think the "$ value of a post" should be visible until payout time. Let it be a mystery.

You can't hide that data. It is on a public blockchain. You'll just incentivize someone to make a tool which can display the computation.

Umm, I suppose you didn't read the next part:

Even if these values are in the blockchain, we don't need to make the problem worse via the gui

You must seem to think that 99% of people "use tools". They don't. Most people are lazy, or just take things at face value.

Right now, I bet you only 20% of people even use steemd.com to look at data IF - that..

So, I repeat:
Even if these values are in the blockchain, we don't need to make the problem worse via the gui by showing the dollar value of a post before payout.

It's kind of weird. I knew someone would come along and point out it is on a public blockchain, so I even acknowledged the fact they are on a blockchain, my suggest was strictly for the GUI. (..and of course tools can supplement steemit).

::face palm::

I think I'm just going to go sit down and let someone else point out the obvious again.

Sorry if the facts offended you. Users will demand to see the $ amounts. The GUI will meet demand.

But that is still distributing wealth and if the post hit $100 it probably caught the eye of someone who found it helpful and everyone else upvoting is ok by me. It encourages new people especially. It does have its drawbacks, but I like the system as it is now and would be disappointed if it were removed.

That's a great idea. Make the earnings invisible until after one month.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67096.35
ETH 3509.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22