NEW @intelliguy series -- talking about what the heck is going on with crypto today.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Every day I wake up, something ridiculous is going on with cryptocurrency. So I am compelled to say something about it..

crypto-and-decentralized-industry-today.png

Just like you, I look at coinmarketcap, I check the price of STEEM, read the news, and go look at what is happening these days on steemit, coindesk, cointelegraph, bitshares... just an overall "what's going on today" situation.

Eventually it gets really old, really fast.

I'm tired actually of UPS and DOWNS and DRAMA, and HARDFORKS, and ICO's....

  • "China is stopping Bitcoin"

  • "Russia is trying to tax Bitcoin"

  • "Russia is blocking Golos"

  • "Bitcoin is stuck with massive amounts of unconfirmed transactions"

  • "Bitcoin has been forked again and is now has a huge competitor as Bitcoin XYZ"

  • "Bitcoin Cash (BCH) is DDoSing Bitcoin"

sadface.jpg

It is quite ridiculous actually. We can't go a solid week or two, without some drama in the news impacting the price of Bitcoin, Steem, Ethereum or whatever...

The one thing we do know, is that all these blockchains keep adding blocks.

Steemit.com is still up, and I'm always happy about that...

  • "What if BITCOIN goes to $0.00"

  • "What if STEEM goes to $0.00"

...I never have to worry about those things, because they never will happen, at least in my lifetime or yours.

I've said this to people before... people FREAK OUT if Bitcoin or STEEM goes down in price. I then ask them.. "I know the price is down.. why are you concerned? Were you selling today?"

..."No, oh definitely no... I'm not selling... I just don't like seeing these prices...."

I get that...

point-finger-you.jpg

But if you're not currently buying, and you're not currently selling... WHY DO YOU CARE WHAT THE PRICES ARE?

Coinmarketcap and market prices move up/down like a yoyo.. or a rollercoaster.

If you are not buying...

...and you are not selling...

STOP LOOKING AT PRICES!

People only look at prices if they are holding, so they can feel better about their holdings....

If you understand what it is your holding... you shouldn't need to constantly re-validate yourself by feeding your ego "ok, the price is good. I made the right decision based on today's price"

Did you research what you bought? YES

  • Is the price down today? YES (does it really matter for a day? NO!)

  • Is the price up today? YES (does it really matter for a day? NO!)

Unless you are in a buy/sell position, do yourself a favor. STOP staring at prices and worrying about it. That's how the sharks and whales feed off of people like you. PANIC BUYS / PANIC SELLS is what runs the profitability of the trading market.

worried.jpg

Sorry, I had to vent. You'll see more of these outbursts as time goes on...

Crypto is a little crazy right now... you might see it too... At some point we have to ground ourselves and come back to reality. Stop making spontaneous decisions on a daily basis. If you believe in something, you don't need to dump it...

..the best money makers in the crypto scene are those that buy, hold, and weather the storms....

This is true with Bitcoin, Ethereum, EOS, Peercoin, Bitshares, or what have you....

ONE CAVEAT: I elaborate more about what to watch for in this newer post.

Find the right thing to invest in, and wait it out.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

Sort:  

agree. every day we see some drama, bans and so on. people start to panic sell, and nothing happens in the long-term. people worry vainly and lose money sometimes buying and selling at the wrong time. just invest and hodl

Well just bought some ADX this morning to park on a paper wallet.

thanks man really I see daily no my investment price goes up or down but thanks for clearing my mind keep sharing such a informative post :)

I have been in this for a few months and it has not been any different... this is the way its always been for me.
I just invest 50 or 100 in some ICO i like per month and let it ride
I have been buying a bit of steem while its so low and will take my profits when it goes up and then power those up and let them ride
It saves a lot of stress and as far as I can tell 90% of the people are not cut out for the up and down trading anyway and end up losing money

I buy and sell bitcoins, these adjustments like the 9th to the 12th of this month are necessary. Otherwise how do I make money ?? :-)
Prices were $5520 coming from $7800 on day 12 and today are already $ 7400, so what's the panic? Bitcoin has been the best investment since it was created! Who is afraid to enter, do not enter!
Trade wisely!
Upvoted and resteemed. Do you want to know why? Visit @pf-coin.

wow thats so nice great post @intelliguy

When cyptocurrenct takeing Big place in the market so other start care about it

Thanks for the info

HI, thanks for sharing this, sir @intelliguy do you recommend any cripto to invest?

The best crypto to invest in, is one that you've researched fully. This includes going back to the first day the coin was launched and reading EVERYTHING right until today on Bitcointalk, etc.

Following what is popular is a short-term gain with a long-term loss in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81