Why has my STEEM Power Gone Down? 0.500 STEEM (+14.503 STEEM)

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Being quite new here, I noticed when I joined I was gifted with 0.500 STEEM. All my wallet balances are at Zero apart from my Steem Power which was 0.500 STEEM (+28.000 STEEM). I made a few posts and upvoted some I thought had value and resteemed a couple of posts and even upvoted a few of my own posts and comments and now my Steem Power Balance is 0.500 STEEM (+14.503 STEEM) !

So instead of earning Steem Value or Steem Power the only thing that changed was my Steem Power balance has gone down... Does anyone know why this is? I was under the impression from other people's posts that upvoting cost you nothing but added to your Steem Balance/Power?

And also when it says 0.500 STEEM (+28.000 STEEM) in my Steem power wallet, what is the difference between 0.5 STEEM and 28.000 STEEM? I still find this site very confusing. My first five posts got next to zero views (apart from my own page refreshes) so how does one actually make money here apart from buying STEEM Tokens and the value of those Tokens appreciating like any other alt coin?

Thank you for your support.

Matt

Sort:  

Did you ever get to the bottom of this?

No not yet, I was hoping some steemit experts would have some answers!

It sounds like the 0.5 STEEM is what you own and the 28 STEEM was delegated to you to help you get started. Delegation is like a temporary loan that can be removed or changed and maybe this is what happened.

Voting does not cost anything except your Voting Power will drop each vote and regenerates slowly each day.

I just had a look at https://steemd.com/@innervision and confirmed this is exactly what happened. Account steem reduced it's initial delegation to 14.507 SP approx 10 days ago.

Ok thanks for looking. Why would it reduce the initial delegation? And was that done the same for everyone?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63079.17
ETH 3466.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51