You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Birth, life, death: The fate of all things.

in #steem6 years ago

I wish I knew which threats to the system you're thinking of as you write this.

From my perspective, everything seems pretty great on Steemit. Granted, I haven't been here even a year yet. And the diminished price of STEEM isn't great.

I've said before that a unique issue with STEEM is that people don't hold onto it when the price is down to wait for it to come back up the way one does with most coins. So many people are cashing it out regularly to live on, selling at any price, that it can artificially depress the price more than the overall crypto market when things are contracting.

And I know there are some abusers on here, people creating many accounts to upvote oneself, people putting out huge volumes of junk content and upvoting themselves, etc. Yet somehow I still find more good content each day than I have time to read. Still make more than I really expect to make on here, writing things I love to write. And still find such meaningful comments on most of my posts (though one dear to me seemed to get skipped over by everyone the other day).

I don't feel like a martyr. I feel so lucky! And if some want to leave a bid them farewell. I hope they are truly happier at the next place. I think the best is yet to come for this platform and I'm working on being a part of seeing that happen.

Just today I had meetings with 4 different people who are helping me put together a Steemit writing program for Native American youths on the reservations and include professional writing teachers to supplement the portions I do on using the platform successfully. We are going to be helping these teens become better readers and better writers, using Steemit to do it. I am not discouraged about this platform's future at all. It just may be a different set of people enjoying their time here, those for whom less money goes further.

Sort:  

I wish I knew which threats to the system

The system generalized, not just the Steem environment.

Yet somehow I still find more good content each day than I have time to read.

I agree but it depends on how one approaches content and people. Most value what they think will give them immediate advantage, it is cutting content corners and then they wonder why they do not enjoy what they consume.

And still find such meaningful comments on most of my posts (though one dear to me seemed to get skipped over by everyone the other day).

Annoying isn't it? DM me a link :)

We are going to be helping these teens become better readers and better writers, using Steemit to do it.

I tihnk that in time, there is going to be a n increasing branch of education on Steem to the point where there will be specialized dapps for it. It is likely going to be one of the most successful/influential components of the blockchain as it can bring a vast amount of organised and trusted material to many people cheaply.

Good luck :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71