When relying on Circle to buy steem or steem powersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem8 years ago

Since @marketingmonk advised me to use Circle to buy steem/steem power, I have always relied on it when I do so, but today it fails me.

Today I can no longer buy any of it through bitcoin equivalent with my fiat money. Steem is $.15 in coinmarketcap today. I thought i'll get some steem power.

It's only once that I have bought STEEM as I had it converted to steem power immediately, since then I have been getting STEEM POWER.

I am in UK, so what is the alternative? Help! 

@blocktrades @meesterboom @thecryptofiend

Sort:  

Everything flies over my head on Steemit. Maybe one day the newbie will get what Steemers are talking about.

A few more months here and we'll know it by heart :( Steem on!!

I'm holding you to that promise. OK?

Let's hope together lolsss

snickers in agreement

Yeah hahaha

I'm afraid I don't know. I have not yet bought BTC or any other crypto with fiat. All the crypto trading I have done to date is with steem to other currencies and then back to steem if a profit is made. I am a poor man's steemer!

You should maybe wait a week or two? Steem has been trending slightly downward since the hardfork and whilst I am all for buying in I would hate to see you potentially lose money. Then again, as I say I am no trader!!

Thanks for your reply. A few pounds here and there will make us win one day ;)

Absolutely! Did you try coin mama?

Have u?i thought it's just for credit card.will check it now!

Nah I haven't checked it yet, if you use it let me know. When steem hits bottom I could throw a few pounds at it :0)

Will have to wait 4 days..will let u know. I think it will go down a bit more from $.15

Hi guys, Im kind of new If I power down know when steem is a .15 and wait to come up and then power up again to that work? it is a good idea? I just want to try to boos thing up a little. Im just starting and dont post or comment much. and I dont have any idea on how to invest in steem or bitcoing I wish I can pay whit paypal.

Investing on steem is buying now at its' low price..hoping it will be high up when u want to sell.as on how to this,blocktrades have advised kraken or bitifnex.check his reply to this post.this might depend on which country you are in.

ok I see thanks for the info. I will chek that post then to learn more. thank again.

Look up..he said bitstamp,bitfinex or kraken.i will check those when i have my money back from circle.

I understand that they are hated in many circles, but I have had good luck purchasing Bitcoin from Coinbase. If you are against using their services you could always look at using Uphold. I have used their service from time to time as well and had good luck. With the demise of Circle as a Bitcoin Broker, Coinbase and Uphold are the two brokers I recommend in the tutorials on my website.

Are these for UK bank cards?thanks.

If I'm reading these correctly, both Uphold and Coinbase support UK bank accounts and credit/debit cards:

That is cool.thanks again.

Why is coinbase not liked???does it charge for every transaction?and uphold?

Coinbase gets a bad rap because they have to follow the Know Your Customer guidelines of the Anti-Money Laundering laws in the US. They have to verify the identity of their customers. Until they do, they impose limits on buying, selling, and transacting. They have also been known to lock accounts where customers are sending to known gambling and buying/selling sites like Local Bitcoins. Their Terms & Conditions explain that this is against the rules, but people don't read those things. Once a lock is in place, Coinbase usually works with the customer to get their money transferred out, but it takes some time.

Point is... use them as a broker. Buy bitcoin, transfer it to a wallet you control, and then do what you want with it. Then transfer it back in to Coinbase, sell it, and withdraw your local currency.

Its saying uphold gets 1% for every transaction

As I don't use them for anything except buying and selling, this is no different than Coinbase. I buy bitcoin and transfer it to a wallet I control. When I'm ready to sell I transfer it back, sell it, and then withdraw my local currency. This would only be a concern if I were using them as a wallet and transacting on a regular basis. I'm not. I do that using the wallet I control.

I was using circle as a wallet as i do small amounts regularly you see.

My main purpose is to have a wallet where it can directly buy bitcoin to buy steem. I have checked it out with a total of 3.5% fees to every transaction.is this an acceptable fee?
Card is 2.75% + transaction of .75%.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83