I never wanted to be a Steemian

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I started investing in cryptocurrencies over a year ago and by September 2017 I found myself asking " Are any of these blockchains being used for a real use case?" and " Can any of them scale and have enough transactions to prove it?"
So I researched just that and to my surprise found Steem was #1 in transaction volume at 600,000 per 24 hours and was hardly breaking a sweat. I thought "Steemit, that social media thing?". I've never been the Facebook type or into Reddit, I researched investments through earnings and financial statements and analyst reports but never used social media much. I went to Steemit.com and looked around, the page looked clean and professional, the community seemed friendly. I researched the tech and learned about Dan Larimer and how he created delegated proof of stake and was very impressed by the Steem blockchains capabilities. I let the information resonate for a while and this idea of being paid for your content, big or small was just so powerful. I could really see this thing taking off, like a magnet just pulling people in, I mean hell, money is the driver of most creation. When I found that other content platforms had been created using the blockchain and then SMT's I was sold. Now I was asking " how's Steem so cheap at $1.00?, this thing's way undervalued".

I opened a Steem account in October to experience the platform for myself and safely store my coins by powering up. I never planned on using the site too often, it was mainly an investment where I could earn coins through interest and some upvoting. Fast forward to today. I'm on the site multiple times a day, interacting in good conversations about cryptocurrencies and have bought coins I never would have found without some very smart Steemians.

Steemit is a unique system. Click that "post" button and the anticipation begins. There's no better feeling than having people engage with your thoughts and pay you for the effort. I don't even have a Facebook account so I knew
Steemit had something special when it drew me in, I'm sure there's many more people out there just like me.

G'day

Sort:  

Steemit is just amazing ! I found it from a friend and since then i cant stop surfing in it ! Its so much cooler then Facebook and so much more modern. I really hope more creators will join it soon !

Yes, Steemit has more than 500k users. We are using it daily. It is definitely different from others tokens. Most of them are in a conceptual stage. But in case of Steemit, We are using it regularly. Thank you for the nice article.

True having a technical background i tend to invest in platforms where i see scalability is not an issue and reaching mass audience is not an issue both of which in my opinion can be achieved by Steemit .I bought steem and powered up as soon as i had an adequate amount of technical understanding of how the system works.

I am amazed by how great the Steemit platform is .It truly is one of if not the best blockchain currently out there making a sizable impact on the social media industry.

It truly is an amazing thing. It seems there's an insanely high level of intellectual capacity on the STEEM platform. The incentive to create valuable content has never been like this in the history of man-kind. It's a drive for creation.

Ya, is amazing what dollars brings out of people, haha

Well put. It's a system that sorts out not only good content, but great conversation. I look forward to delving into the comment section.

I'm with you brother/sister! I joined November with little expectation, and now I'm full blown steem lurker.

Ya, the site is great, now we just need to spread the word.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34