You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steem still the blockchain based social media platform?

in #steem6 years ago

The three way split in rewards has to do with limiting the amount of SBD produced which was a side effect of its price increasing.

If there's more SBD value (by price) than the available STEEM, the peg gets even more broken, and SBD is essentially debt.

It's basically the printing presses cooling down. It's a function of the chain, linked to the price feed broadcast by witnesses.

I'd love to run a witness node myself, but the costs (time, server space, etc) are prohibitive for me personally.

Sort:  

Ohh interesting..
I thought I read somewhere that hyper inflation was built into the SBD in order to bring the price down when it was above 1$. For a long time to total supply of SBD stayed fairly low, but it has went up drastically over the past couple months.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68010.47
ETH 3258.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68