To all of those earning small payouts: Build an investment, not a salary.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

There's nothing as discouraging as making a post you thought to be "the one that would conquer the trending page", but still not receiving the payout you hoped that you deserved. But by changing your mindset and the way you perceive the reward system that Steemit is showing us, you can get to experience a much more positive outcome. Because with a grain of patience you will quickly realize that you in some way are earning a fortune..


This post is much inspired by @taskmaster4450 who's in my eyes are among one of the most bullish people on Steemit now. Claiming he is foreseeing the Steem price will go up to 100$ within 2018. Sounds crazy, right? but you still cannot help but love his great attitude and praise towards steem that we all want to see take off to the infinite and beyond!
investment-1.jpg

So I am telling you: build an investment, not a salary


Most of us are aware that we don't actually get paid in US dollars but in steem power and steem dollars, yet US dollars is what it's measures. While many of us knows this, it is easy to forget and feel despair(including myself) when we see those low numbers on our posts that we thought should be much more. In some way the despair could make sense... if you see what you earn as a salary and not an investment.


So instead to measure in the dull present, try to measure in the bright future


A little bit of dreaming wont harm and here the dream could be a really big motivation for you to keep going, because it's very likely to become a reality.
If the prophesy becomes true then every single steem you earn from your posts will be worth a lot more than the present. If people like @taskmaster4450 are saying that steem will go to 100 dollars in 2018, then that silly one steem you earned a few months ago is suddenly quite significant. While I am a bit skeptical about steem reaching 100 in 2018, i would't be surprised to at least see it jump into the double digits with all the new smart media tokens coming up.

No I am not telling you to take a loan and buy your dream car because you got 100 steem laying in your wallet. You are building an investment and investment always got risks of not paying off. But for me the risk is so minimal than what you could get rewarded. Yes steem could dry out and become worthless, but in what reality are you living in to see this as a likely possibility? Look at the people, the technology and the vision of steem - then realize the price of what steem is right now is far from what it will become. We have to be visionaries! We want to reap the reward by seeing huge potential in a great product not everyone else have noticed yet.

mii.jpg

Eliminate the risk of wasting time: write with passion


Unless you are heavily invested in steem from your own pocket chances are the only thing you are risking is wasting time. But i want you to reflect back on why exactly you came to Steemit. Did you do it because of the promise to get rich? if the answer is yes, to me it sounds like a big waste of time then. Not for the fact that you cannot get rich off steemit, but should money really be your only motivation for blogging? you might a well just get a well paid job if you really only care about the money.

BUT if you like me saw steemit as a gateway to freedom and the possibility to release your inner writing bird by sharing your passions with a strong community AND with the extra spark to even earn on it, then you are in the perfect place.

For me i started a huge cycling tour across Europe and i was looking for a place to share and blog about my adventures. Steemit suddenly popped up and very quickly i was intrigued by the idea that i might even make a small amount of cash at the same time. Back then of course, i didn't even know about the crypto world except for this weird thing called "bitcoin". While Steemit's marketing for making some money made me decide to come exactly here, it was also the easy way of getting a blog up and running without much trouble. No website needed, no expenses, just sign up and write.


Don't do my mistake, don't let greed forget why you came here in the first place


I myself have the sin of giving in for greed on the website and forget where my passion truly stood. A while ago i figured just posting some of my good looking pictures everyday would net me more "easy" earnings. I didn't enjoy it but it did make me earn more because i didn't rely on any whales to come by. Problem with this method was i quickly burned out by it and in fact i enjoyed so much more making longer and more meaningful posts. But that changed thanks to @quinneaker who made a very honest comment saying he missed my "juicy" posts and not just watching a bunch of senseless pictures.

Does all my less frequent but meaningful(to me at least) posts get attention? no. but at least i enjoy writing them and from time to time i might hit the jackpot to find some great support in someone who recognized my post. But it did require me to change the way i saw the payouts and see even those small earnings as potentially much bigger in the future. That way I have found myself in a position where i win no matter how well my posts are doing.
plante.jpg

The conclusion: keep stacking, keep engaging


Our small earnings have a huge potential and every single steem we earn in this period might become worth more than we realize in the future. So don't make yourself feel bad of receiving the small payouts! YOU are already lucky to be here on Steemit before so many others! People that might never get to see steem this easy to stack. But don't just invest in building your steem wallet, invest in your future success on Steemit. Keep writing that "juicy" content, keep engaging in the community and comment on others content you find just as good. You will have a great head start before everyone else coming after you. Maybe with time that investment building might also become your salary one day.

-Holm



Picutres taken by my phone and first one found at google images

Sort:  

Beyond true I feel like when the price of SBd went up many people sold sold sold , but I feel like it’s best to switch over and convert it to Steem because it has more protential and it may be able to offer us more next year

Have never sold one steem yet, always powered up. While it have been tempting at times i am not regretting to hold! Especially when we see great movement in steem now!

true, I invest it smart :)

Wise and valuable post~

Heres some support for your sustenance.

I see a successful future for you here on Steemit.

IMO your content has been highly undervalued. Unless secretly you are a dark dishonorable guy I believe that soon you will find great success here on Steemit.

Wish you the best.

Thanks a lot @quinneaker!

What you don't know I'm secretly funding my dark cult below the surface! Your support will go to them! Haha:)

Jokes a side thanks for the kind words man, glad to see you dropping by!

Yea I make it a point to check in on you every now and then. Glad to see you still Steemin!

Making sure I am still in check and not slacking too much off eh? haha!

I personally liked your posts with just a few pictures although obviously they aren't as good as the "juicy" posts. These are crazy times in the crypto world and who knows what STEEM may or may not be worth one day, anything seems possible at the moment though. My personal strategy is to trade my SBD for other coins (especially while the price is so high!) and gradually accumulate more SP over time. The great thing about STEEM is that if you use this website you can actually receive cashflow as well as a long term investment. Not many other coins can offer that

A good strategy to make sure you spread your rewards! For me I pretty much just put everything into steem since it's the only crypto I actually use. I have a little bit in other coins but never been transferring steem to them :)

Thanks for that @holm.

And yes I am one of the most bullish people on this site. Perhaps I am out in left field but we got a glimpse of what is possible this weekend (I will be writing about it in my next post).

Steem offers so many different ways to earn some payback for doing what most people are doing on other site.

I think it important, forget my forecasts, to remember that a 20 cents payback on a post is more than one got on blogger or wordpress. That 5 cent upvote on a comment is more than was given on Facebook.

And we are at the early stages. Ignore my 50 fold and go 5 fold...what does that do to the 20 cents post...it is worth a dollar. A few more of them, and suddenly, you are talking some real money.

That's exactly what I get from your posts. Even if steem would "only" go to 5 this year, that's still some significant gains in those small earnings a lot of us are making.

I think it's healthy for the platform to have some really bullish people who are speaking of the high hopes. It will like circles in the water spread out and give confidence to more people and steem.

Well @holm, it seems the negativity outweighs the positive by a large margin.

People want to nitpick every little bug in a new update and flaws in new apps. Give it time; the developers will catch up.

We need to see what comes of this over the next 3 months. I think we will see a lot of things moved forward to the point most of us will be able to see the blastoff.

You did the extra mile. You put the effort and you will rip the benefits.

Same goes for everyone coming at steemit. This is serious businesses. Build your power now and you wont regret it as time goes by.

I couldn't agree more with what you say @skapaneas! The more. I learned about steem the more I started seeing this is actually big to be part of this early on! Cheers man!

Well because i tend to be a realist 100$ i bet it won't go not even in 2019 :P probably one of the best case scenario in my mind is to be at end of 2018 a bit over double of what it is now
On the other hand i completely agree with what you said, you need to like what you post and if you like and enjoy it you can't seem to measure the time into complete it. a final point i want to make is interact interact interact with others that's the key factor in my mind + a content as mentioned that you enjoy writing

Being a realist is absolutely a most! But like @taskmaster4450 just commented. Even if it were to only go to 5 dollars, that's still significant improvement in what we stacking right now that might not seem like a lot! But I'm with you on this one, it's important to look at it with reason. No matter what I look to hold steem for years to come, hopefully without the need of cashing out too much!

i am on the same boat. i haven't used not a single steem or sd from the time i got into except in the case i need money and i need money badly :P . If we post and do it as something we like then the whole experience is joyful and the money factor is secondary

Awesome attitude to share. It takes time to build a following and get nice rewards on your posts, but keep at it. Try not to think too much about growing your wallet, grow your network and get involved with the community. Resteeming this to share your message.

Thanks a lot @gmuxx! I completely agree with what you say here. Steemit is a social platform and very often engaging with the community will bring you far! In essence it all comes down to just use the platform to your own enjoyment, rest will come naturally.

Exactly. Also, don't focus on yourself, try to help and encourage others.

Another great thought provoking post. Sometime we get shortsighted and not step back and see the forest from the trees. Keep stacking. Keep blogging. Stay safe on your adventure.

Ahhh I like that way you putted it! Keep stacking man! Thanks a lot!

You give a very powerful and meaningful insight on , not just steem but life.
This was an article that reassured the fact , I started on steem just to get away from fake book, and have fun.
Your post should inspire many to just enjoy the platform, make money if you can, but the main thing here is meeting people around the world with the same interest and what I call the infant stages of all cryptos, steem will become the new fake book and we haven't even scratched the surface, so many still learning about steem ,Bitcoin and other cryptos, hell I'm still learning!
But like you said, enjoy you time here, meet new people around the world,and learn from so many great people here on steem!
Great post!!

Amazing comment man, if we just enjoy the platform and it's unique opportunities we will all for sure end up for a feeling of success in the end!

SteemOn @buster544!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57379.94
ETH 2522.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32