You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Does Getting Flagged Hurt So Much?

in #steem7 years ago

I think that while downvoting is possible it will only become more common - as the site grows and attracts more people, with more agendas, and more competition

The problem will always be that people see the pending payout and view it as ‘their earned money’, even if there are still 6 days to go.

It is interesting that people view downvoting as taking away from them something that they have already earned, while they don’t view upvotes as giving them something they haven’t yet earned. This will never change

Sort:  

I think downvoting could result in people being to focused on being "politically correct" and do not offend anybody instead of being honest and transparent. I think every great idea gets lots of "hate" therefore downvotes so this could result into neutral post being most rewarded and discourage people posting honest opinions.

I'm afraid we've already passed that Rubicon, and are looking at it in the rear-view mirror.

It's interesting that you say that... This is my first day here (this is actually my first ever post) and I'm here specifically for the censorship-free nature of the forum. I hadn't really considered the negative consequences of such totally free expression. I was drawn to this site becaue of all the great things I've read so far or heard from user videos as it regards the welcoming nature of the community as a whole, but I suppose even this great concept has a "down" side; doesn't everything these days? In any case, even though I've only yet glanced about the surface, I can tell there is more not just more substance to the content here, but also a greater ratio of users willing to invest time in the content of deeper substance (even the "haters" here are well versed, for the most part;). Anyway, thanks for the enlightenment into the nature of the structure around here. I look forward to growing as a content creator for the first time in my life and every bit of insight helps.

Stay Up/Stay Out
FatherHoodRich

" even this great concept has a "down" side"

Yep, unfortunately, it's called "human nature".

Welcome to the party. Join us at the Minnow Support Group.

Thanks for the reply. I accept your invite and I will do so a soon as I figure it out ;)

Everything you need should be here:

http://minnowsupportproject.org/

Welcome @fatherhoodrich!
You can’t be censored here in terms of your words being totally removed. But if somebody with a lot of power takes a disliking to you and/or your viewpoint then they can make things hard. It’s not common, but it happens

Kind of like the real world 🤔

"It’s not common, but it happens"

Unfortunately, I'd say it's getting more common by the day.

Absolutely - if you are new here and you have no or limited SP, and if you feel strongly about something which others also feel strongly about, but with an opposing view to you, then you need to think carefully about whether it is worth raising your head above the parapet.

Just like in the real world...

Very true. Good rules for general living, too.

The problem with downvotes isn't the impact it has directly, it is the potential leverage effect. If a person with much SP downvotes posts of a specific author or with a specific tag, that cuts into curration rewards, so ppl will be less likely to upvote that person or posts with that tag in the future. That way, a hand full of $50,- worth downvotes from a whale could easily divert $1000,- or more away from a tag or popular author.

Incidentally, we have the same problem with curation in reverse. People dog-pile content for curation rewards, even if it isn't good.

There's no easy solution.

True.

But I don’t see it as a problem, it is just how it is. Everyone is free to use their voting power how they wish

From what I have seen so far in my 4 months or so here, the majority of cases where people have got their accounts into real trouble have been self-inflicted, or at least could have been fairly easily avoided or resolved

Unfortunately, most new users are not prepared with the diplomacy skills necessary to tell the difference.

Worse, there are Orcas (not naming them to prevent being shitlisted, but chances are you know who I'm referring to) telling people in YouTube videos things like they should upvote their own comments. With the big guys behaving in ways that would (and do) get the small guys into big trouble. I recently flagged a guy who I thought was a comment bot, then found out he was just a new user struggling to make sense of it all. You should see this video he made about his confusion of what seems to be a bug in the steemit web interface. It's easy to get the wrong first impressionafter having been exposed to bots and scammers, especially when non malicious intended behaviour is the result of watching the videos of gobshite orca's who blatenly tell their following to behave in ways they themselves only get away with because of the size of their vesting share.

I really wish we could do more to help people like Ad from the link above with making sense of it all before they reach the point of selfdistruction.

This is a natural result of our human psychology, I'm afraid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49