You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Update 07/01] Curation reward/fork discussion updates

in #steem8 years ago

I've support all guys who run 8.2.
My rationale. Retroactive changes are never good at all. But if such changes are useful for the whole community and the whole community support it why not? I would not support witnesses who put self interest higher than community interests. In usual life we call that conflict of interests. If such conflicts are emerge the one should choose what is more important: to be witness or not to be.

Sort:  

My reasoning for rejecting the retroactive change is that, while perhaps well-intended, the specific changes are not particularly useful and certainly not essential. The stated goal was to flatten the curve to reward small stakeholders, but in reality the smallest stakeholders are still not rewarded (their rewards are negligible in either case), and the practical effect is to shift rewards the largest individual accounts to medium size accounts, which in some cases are owned by people with more total stake (just broken up into multiple accounts). The whole thing is a mess and the best thing to do is respect that people played by the rules, not attempt to micromanage some sort of retroactive redistribution which reassigns rewards based on rules that didn't exist when people were taking the actions they did, and make any desired adjustments on a forward-looking basis.

Some, perhaps all, of those of us who earned more under the existing rules have agreed to donate some of our earnings to help spread out more rewards to the smaller stakeholders. In my perspective that is not only less divisive than changing the rules after the fact, but helps support the good of the platform better than the 0.8.2 changes.

That is my point of view, and I respect that not all agree.

I agree with you that this sort of retroactive changes is in fact donation of big contributors to medium/small. But that is perfectly fine for a system we are trying to build. I would like to support your solution if it would exist and exist in executable code now.

I have followed some of your comments on this issue, and I really respect your opinion on the matter.

So I just wanted to ask you; what your opinion is on the comment rewards and the voting time limit?

Thanks

CG

I was not in favor of the comment rewards because of the spam issue. I mildly dislike the voting time limit, but I understood from Dan's explanation that it was necessary for technical reasons and perhaps a better solution can found later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56747.23
ETH 3007.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19