Word Vomit #3: Don't Forget to Post!

in #steem7 years ago

The Importance of (somewhat) Frequent Posting

typewriter-801921_1280.jpg

In my few Steemit beginners' "guides" that I've posted I've frequently mentioned that I believe that one of the main keys to success here is commenting; frequent, insightful and thoughtful commenting. What I haven't mentioned much of is the importance of actual posting.

While waiting for my coffee to be done this morning, I hopped on Steemworld and noted that my reputation had reached 47, and knew something unusual happened. For those of you who don't know, Steemworld is a brilliantly useful tool created by @steemchiller , and I strongly advise everyone to check it out at the very least.

Screen Shot 2018-02-24 at 3.28.37 PM.png

Anyways, I scrolled down and noticed I had received almost 50 votes on my most recent music post, and that it was up to $7! This is very unusual for me, but it has happened before. One time, by far my biggest Steemit achievement, I had a post reach almost $50, and I recognized many of the same usernames from the previous success.

I have no idea how the user who set off these voting strings found my posts; nor why it caused all the additional votes. What I do know is that if I hadn't sat down and made a post yesterday, it would have never happened. Steemworld shows me the post has zero resteems, so maybe it was found due to my frequent commenting or maybe it was something else; regardless, it's significant to me.

Put in work

child-1226954_1280.jpg

I don't believe this would have happened if I had posted a really poor quality post. I'm not saying my posts are amazing, I just mean I do put a lot of effort into them to produce original content, whereas if I had posted a meme or something of that nature, I doubt I would have gotten those votes. Again, I don't know how these users stumble upon minnows such as myself but I see it more commonly with people that are putting in consistent effort. Maybe there's some sort of algorithm; I don't know.

Don't Give Up!!!

dog-1639528_1280.jpg

Another point to all this is, don't get discouraged. Looking through my posts, it gives a false appearance that it's not out of the ordinary for me to get over $1 for a post. But, a lot of those(especially recently) have been a direct result of my own use of @minnowbooster , or my incessantly pestering bigger users until they decide to visit my profile.

If I were to just make a post and walk away from the computer, I doubt I'd get over 0.10; and that would probably be mostly from my back points on Steemfollower. So to me, this seems like a random, very generous act of kindness; but I do think it did have something to do with my activity on the site.

I guess all I wanted to do here is add to my previous advice about the importance of commenting. Making posts is just as important, even if you're not generating exactly what you want, you never know when someone might come along and hook you up.

Thanks for hanging in there on another rant of mine. Hope y'all are having a great time both here and in the real world :)

Screen Shot 2018-02-24 at 3.41.48 PM.png

Manna - Collect what we all deserve
Presearch - Earn tokens while you search
Use steemfollower to connect with more Steemit users

Check out these faucets!
Moon DASH
Moon BCH
Moon LTC
Moon DOGE

Kryptonia - Earn SUP by doing simple tasks(or get Steemit likes from your own task)

Sort:  

Thank you for your inspiring posts! I will keep these in mind while I am venturing as a new member.

Thanks! When you're brand new, I'd suggest just exploring for a bit. It can be fun and can take you on some pretty weird tangents. Thanks for stopping by!

See, this is why I am glad you are back. Another well written and inspiring post. There was a day I wanted to give up and you told me not to, I am glad I listened to you.

Hey thanks! You never should. If you keep posting your art I'm confident you'll build a good following over time. I'm certainly a fan and I'm sure many others will be!

That would be a dream coming true. Thank you for being my fan, I am your fan! Seems to be in a good balance :)

This post has been resteemed by The Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative and Newbie Resteem Day. Keep on Steeming.

You know I will. Thanks!

God damit, I haven't seen any of your posts in my feed! I dont know what is going on here man. I have missed out on voting on this one but I'll be sure to get you. I know you are missing out on the .02$ LOL Have a great day!

Hey man no worries! There's a lot going on here on this site, it's not always easy to keep up. Let's hope someday our votes are worth something serious. Cheers brother!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81