You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Upvote Buying & the Steem Power Snowball Effect

in #steem6 years ago

I'm confused about the minnowbooster statistic- MB has been the only service I've used thus far(due to mainly just being uninformed and immediately converting/powering up every reward I get), but I'd like to know what you mean by "eaten" SBD. Can you explain what you mean by this? I'm just curious :)

Sort:  

It happens on their website. Spending SBD and not getting any upvotes, and it doesn't get returned.

You get the normal message of "upvote from balance: your-post-link" but the following message that either refunds you or tells you who's going to upvote you doesn't appear, and your posts doesn't get the upvote(s) you bought. most of the time if you wait for a while you eventually get the upvote, but occasionally you don't, and it's not a new problem. I've lost about 7 SBD since the new year from that happening, and going onto their discord and complaining about it is just about the only thing that can be done. I basically won't touch them anymore. The last time it happened was when I was trying to buy an upvote for this very post, and never got refunded or upvoted for it.

Now that you mention that, I think that actually has happened to me. I think I just assume don't that it would resolve itself, but I think it was during a succession of small vote buys so I don't think I ever double checked. Definitely good to know. I'm guessing this happened when upvoting from MB balance?

So, this is a somewhat embarrassing question and I might be jumping the gun a little bit, but, I tried out smartsteem and I seemed to run into the exact issue you proposed :/ My first send worked great, but then as I accidentally sent two requests for .25 SBD worth of upvotes in succession, one was returned to me while I am still awaiting the votes from the other. It's been a few hours now; should I expect them to come in still? Or for a return?

Not to bug you, but one other question. I transferred 2.5 SBD to my balance on their website, yet when I afore-mentioned buying votes from them; it was going to steemconnect and coming from my wallet. I couldn't figure out a way to take it from my balance. Any experience with this?

Sorry to barrage you with questions, briggsy. Since you were my most recent interaction regarding smartsteem, however, I didn't know who else to ask. If you see this and get back to me, well, thank you :)

that's the only downside of smartsteem, it comes from your wallet each time.

They also have a built in system the sends your money back if your current bid is still in queue, a system that minnowbooster hasn't implemented yet to my knowledge, and I won't be using again them until they do.

I've seen a bid in queue for a while some times before I get upvotes with smartsteem. If you go to your profile on smartsteem, it will show you a history of your upvotes, how much you received and how many votes.

Yup, it did go through, it just took about 12 hours. I was only concerned because nothing actually appears in the history until history, well, has happened. So it seemed to just be lost. I ended up joining their Discord shortly after I left you that comment and found that a lot of people were actually having the same issue, so I waited it out. Thanks for getting back to me though.

I don't entirely understand having a SBD balance on smartsteem if you can't use it for votes. oh well though, I guess I'll send it back to my wallet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55