You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you a Steem 1 percenter? Do you know who is?

in #steem6 years ago

I am not sure how to comment on this post without coming across as a hypocrite. The post is absolutely fine but the problem lies with me.
Whatever little Steem and SBD is there in my Wallet has been generated here on the platform. Now the question of pwering up comes in play - the thing is that I have waiting for the whole month to power up but ratio of exchange for SBD and Steem is not coming back to 1:1. In fact its moving farther away. It looks like I missed the boat in early April and it might come back ever again.
I want to power up desperately but even 1 steem matter's a lot and maybe I'll wait another month to get a better ratio and if not, then I have no idea where do I go from here. My original plane was to get 500SP mark in 2018 itself (thus bringing myself closer to 1 percentile)

Sort:  

The ratio is all part of the game and it may never get back to one or, it could go back to 11:1 and you will be really happy. Hard to say and Haejin doesn't know either... ;)

There are many different positions held here and it is up to each but, there are people complaining about community who have been here longer than I, earned more than I, yet hold under 500 SP in their accounts. Everyone has their path and challenges they face, me included.

Isn't a bit misleading to use all 1 million accounts? Surely 80% must be bots haha. We would need a real human calculation to check the real rankings. I agree with you that a strong middle class is exactly what is needed. They should have the most influence on the platform. And many people love to be middle class. Since it's safe and has a large audience.

there are something like 200k unique people estimated you are right. which means everyone from 500 SP is in the top 5% and the 1 percent is from about ~3000 SP up. However, those bot/alt accounts hold SP and vote too and the blockchain doesn't differentiate them.

Whatever way you loook at it, there shouldn't be more whales and orcas than middle class and it isn't because there are too many whales or orcas.

That sounds better. Yes you are right. How do you bridge the gap that is an interesting question. Clearly you can see that the big accounts can feel threatened and they decide to not work on the middle class. Also know some others that get paranoid when you start to talk about building a middle class. Clearly people with 100s of troll accounts that provides 0 value in building up a community but just wants to cash out.

But I think that the larger accounts if they see a middle class truly being developed that they would help out a lot. Since that is in their best interest. But I'm sure we can see a solid middle class in maybe a year because I can see that the whales relax back a bit and doesn't take up too much room. I think they just want to see something that is really inspiring. That means the smaller accounts will have to sacrifice a bit for some time.

200k unique users?
How does this match the 127k from arcange post?

just an estimate. both are.

I doubt it that it will come back to the ratio 1:1.
Yes there is lot less SBD than Steem, 50 mil SBD compared to 273 mil Steem. But when the SMTs comes out, they need the Steem for their bandwith and will not care about the SBD. So my guess is that SBD will drop to its orginal plan and go back to $1!

I hope it does go back to one (after a massive spike :D). Yes, there is going to be pressures coming and the people who think it is hard to earn now haven't really understood what is expected to arrive.

They indeed have no clue.
If I take a look at the cryptomarket I can already predict that there will come a decline in the number of posts!
And like you write they couldn’t be more wring!
These days people want everything instantly and want what everybody else have, without knowing how much effort or investment was needed to achieve this.
I could envy your wallet and want it also but than it is up to me to do something!
While I don envy it, it encourages me that it is possible. It is more like a motivation than jealousy!

I am in the same boat . However I will wait and hold. I will not take anything out so I don't think there is anything wrong with that . when the ratio hits 1-1 then power up and with all the saved SBD hopefully will be a nice power up

I used to be a waiter, but then I was kind of schooled/educated by a bigger steemian, he did not care about the ratio, he got SBD, he powered it up. I do the same now, and view it as the, (I guess) old school method of dollar cost averaging. The more SP, the more curation reward, the more vote power, the more potential earnings. But then again, I do not know very much at all about cryptocurrencies, and how they really work.

The only way to grow and have an impact here is to power up or have money to buy in . As ones SP grows so does the earning potential and help others to make this a great platform .
I have only been involved in this for a couple months so I spend a lot of time catching up on knowledge . I missed the boat years ago when I could not get any help in investing with the little I had . That little would have changed my life . lesson learned .

Like taraskp said, there are a few times that SBD bought a lot of steem, and thee are times like now when it does not. And like everitt told me, if you want to make money on steem, you need to have SP to vote, the more the better. Right now you SBD might only buy you say 2 steem, in a month it might still only buy you two steem, or it might buy you 5 steem, not even god knows how much it will buy then. But during that month that 2 steem is working for you, not sitting idle earning nothing, growing nothing. If you are going to hold it, I don't know how often they pay interest in the saving account part but maybe look into that, Of course if you need funds right away, I think it takes 3 days to with draw from your savings account.

I'll wait for another month and hope that maybe we'll see a better exchange rate before that.
(Sorry for an incredible amount of typos and grammatical errors in my original comment. Forgot to edit them before posting)

I am sitting here hoping too .

(Sorry for an incredible amount of typos and grammatical errors in my original comment. Forgot to edit them before posting)

I can see you have never seen any of my post ROFL your good !

I was hesitant to vote you to the top without Taraz' permission but since they've already done it you can have one from me too. I looked at your account a while back and thought it was quite good; I hope you will stick around.

Thanks man! I plan to stick around here for a good long while (hopefully not a like parasite).

Glad for your support and apologies for so many typos in the original comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32