You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Overthinking wealth Distribution - A practical guide to a quick headache

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I think about this all the time actually and I totally agree with ya. Not so much in regards to economics, but personal knowledge and investment in the platform.

Now, I love Steemit and spend time here every day, but there are so many folks that have a deeper knowledge, understanding, and commitment than I do. So why did I end up in this '1%'? Because I got in a little early. That's basically it.

Point being, I think you're right about the absent middle class. You would think after watching three, four, five months go by, we'd start seeing an exponential amount of accounts on the come-up where we may have been a while back, but the divide seems to be so large. I'm not doing anything incredibly special on the platform (other than my music, I'd kind of like to hope). But the consistent growth seems to continue to fall to few veterans, rather than distributing among new blood.

Sort:  

But the consistent growth seems to continue to fall to few veterans, rather than distributing among new blood.

Yes, no doubt this is an issue. Now, here is a simplified argument for the need for a middle class.

What is more likely to distribute more wealth. 10 Dolphins with 10K SP Accounts or one Whale with 100K SP?

Dolphins all day every day.

What else is interesting is just the social disconnect of the wealthy that exists in our regular lives as well. I don't see the full picture so maybe it does exist far more often than I'm lead to believe, but how often do you see whales following humble content creators and throwing them a 5-10% upvote just for doing so, without any regard for status or personal gain?

It becomes the chess game. Not existing because you enjoy the content or what the platform is meant to do, but more so because of your stake and status. Which I mean, I can't say I don't get it; even I myself have to remind myself to aimlessly browse for new content every so often. It's easy to get lost in the to-do.

Well put, I have to say I try my best, but I'm not the best curator myself. Hence why the job is delegated to those who know what to do with my SP (@helpie) - But, this also makes a case for the need of SP to do the job.

Regarding curating whales, I can name them with one hand, and I got two fingers to spare. But, it's not like I don't understand them, I do. Their head is on a different game, and honestly, I can't say that I would be any different either.

I mean, I could say I would... but then again, words are just words.

Definitely dude. I suppose if there was an easy solution, we'd have implemented it, right? ...Right??

lol Thanks for the great read, as always.

To be blunt, and this is random, I wanted to get some SBI shares for helpie but on soliciting power I saw the vote uniqueness is only 49%, is there any reason for this?

Taskmaster often has a post every week reporting how the divide has been moving towards having a middle class.

To be honest I was there believing it is true and he had some nifty data but as time goes by you realize that for each step we gain we often take two backwards and reaching that healthy middle class is not a possibility yet.

There has to be fundamental mind changes people have and one of the things we need to change is the sense of entitlement mindset we have that if we are here we deserve the upvote from whales. That if they are not upvoting us then the system is broken. News flash to a lot of people, they do not owe you anything. You have to work and network and engage people. Why would someone upvote you if they don't know you.

another thing is that bid bots are evil and will cause the platform to destroy itself. A bit controversial because of the abuse but done in the right way it provides supply, demand and liquidity. If people think that if they bot up that they would be making mad money even if they have crappy content then they are deluding themselves. People can flag their posts that would entail losses on their end. Bid bot owners have also been criticized a lot maybe yes if they do not have blacklists but the way I see it bid bots is also a way to spread out the votes.

I often tell this to new folks that Steem is not a sprint but a marathon that you would need to work for and train.If you have a short term thinking then you are bound to fail.

Some people get votes because they have built their network, made their names and continued steeming when most people quit. Not everyone that has been here long gets the support but you will have a higher chance of attracting support if you also focused on the community asepect of Steem and not just thought of yourself. Well Haejin of course an anomaly lol.

Well, even haejin and relaxo have been voting (sparingly) outside of themselves recently, which is actually more than I can say about some other similar-sized entities.

I did notice that...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58