You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sorting out the values of Steem

in #steem7 years ago

If you don't have as much time or are more content to just sit on your Steem, then you probably want stability so you just don't have to think about it. Tying the value to $1 US is good for the latter group.

Are you saying this group has already collected as much SP as they want and are now content to simply allow the value of Steem to rise and increase their account value? If so, why would it rise if very few are interested in getting into Steem because it's just too hard to earn? Only a speculator / trader would be interested, but with stability, the price will not move much. I don't understand why this would be favorable. The only reason I can think of for wanting a stable (pegged) SBD would be so that SBD can be used as a currency.

Sort:  

I see what you are saying. I meant that they were more content to just have a slow increase in Steem, rather than necessarily trying to maximize earnings.

So for example, I tend to only come on here from time to time, comment some, and I figure I'll withdraw in a few months or so. I just like the interactions and want to make a little money on the side. For somebody like me, I just want to know that I am slowly accumulating money. I don't want to spend a lot of time checking prices etc. I want stability so I know basically how much I can expect when I do cashout. I don't really want it to be slowly building up for months as I invest a little time each day, and then have it collapse as I'm about to cashout basically.

The idea of use as a currency is also somewhat appealing to me, but it just isn't at that point yet. I suppose it would be good to set up that standard and expectation ahead of time though.

Thanks for the explanation.
I can see where you would want stability, but that just isn't going to happen to a cryptocurrency anyway. There will always be the pump and dumps. For me, the chart simply answers the question of whether I am personally better off when the price of Steem is low and everyone is dishing out smaller votes or I'm better off having bigger votes but sacrificing growing my account. Since my account is rather tiny, earnings are not very significant either way. But since I don't have any plans to cash out, my goal is to grow my SP as fast as possible so that when Steem does go ballistic, I'm able to feel like a whale doling out massive up-votes.

I would have thought that everyone would want to grow their account as fast as possible so that when the time comes for them to cash out, they get more than if the account didn't grow. For instance, if you have $20 value in your account and you grow it slowly to $21, you really didn't gain that much. However, if you can grow that $20 into $200, then you made something.

Now let's play a little game:
Say you took a year to go from $20 to $21 and at the end of that year Steem went up by 10 times. You would then have a whopping $210.
However, if you grew your account to $200 instead, you would end up with $2,000! Don't you think that would be more worth your effort?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54518.65
ETH 2301.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33