What is the price of STEEM (USD) - 3 Sources Showing 3 Different Prices - Help Desk Open today?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)


CASH001.jpg
*original image • Brandon Holsey © 2017

Let's Get Some STEEM! Ok...But...what's the price?

Well, that depends on where you look. I'll admit that I am terribly confused. Maybe some of you seasoned-Steemians can help

Poloniex STEEM & SBD trading is disabled

It seemed like I broke the machine; I put money into SBD and the next day (and since July) has been locked up. Thankfully, I converted it to steem and powered up because I'd still be waiting for the tiny bit of Steem! I'd love to know if or when that will be resolved.
Screen Shot 2017-09-14 at 4.31.33 PM.png Poloniex

I want to put some money into this platform, but it's so many hurdles, fees, and fine print that it only makes me wonder how much hassle it's worth. I might just have to rely on my writing skills to grow money here until I figure out the logistics. Ouch... Wish me luck! 😆

I've read a lot of great info from expert steemians here in the past few months and it really does seem like an investment - this is only the start.

I want to note that I'm aware the STEEM and SBD prices are separate - I get that.

U5dsCpAfVEP8nRhHC7w3kEnyk1Yeh9k.gif

I am glad to be part of it, but I hope a runway can be cleared to make it easier and more welcoming for people to invest in small ways. Just because we aren't all millionaire investors doesn't mean our tiny contributions don't count. They add up to a collective fortune. It all helps to grow this platform and I'm all for that.


From one minnow to the rest - I truly believe we are part of something great. I have no idea what the future holds, but it excites me.


Thanks @mauricemikkers for a great tool: SteemDollar.com

But...I'm still confused! Here's Why:

I'm trying to find the price of SBD (Steem Dollars), but it is confusing.

Screen Shot 2017-09-14 at 4.36.36 PM.png screenshot of Best Price SteemDollar.com

According to this,(I understand is approximated and not guaranteed​ to be accurate), there is a wide range of prices - so which is most accurate?


Poloniex lists $.08359 - I'd love to buy at that price..lol

Bittrex lists $1.013

I checked the internal market on Steemit (accessible via your wallet) - and it shows $1.11

WorldCoinIndex.com lists $.08754 - where can I buy that? lol


Would you rather buy at $1.11 or .83? Is that even a question? So, what price am I paying?

I guess the only price that matters is the one on the internal exchange? It is the only place I can purchase SBD or STEEM currently, so I just took some off the ASK side. Whatever, it's a long play for me (which is rare).

I would like to know what makes such a wide spread of prices?


I still don't know how to determine the "real, live" price. Do you? I could use some help.

small-blue-circuit-Steem-GIF-made-by-me-grow-pro.gif

Sort:  

Poloniex's Price For SBD is not a fair market price as steem and sbd deposits and withdrawals are disabled there. So forget Poloniex if you want to determine a fair market price.
Best guess for a fair value is Bittrex because the volume and liquidity of steem and steem dollars should be a lot higher as on the internal market. that's why the price on the internal market is not as representative as the price on Bittrex.

I suppose the price on internal market makes up for the 'free' or 'fee-less' exchange. I do see that Bittrex accounts for much of the trading volume of both, SBD and STEEM. Thanks for your reply, @ulfr. It makes a bit more sense when you put it in terms of liquidity. I just slapped a few off the ask on the internal market and will try not to complain..haha

Will check on Bittrex from now on, just fired up an account. Thanks again for the input

I've been wondering where I can find a price for Steem and SBD too for accounting purposes as we get paid daily so the rate is constantly different.
Anyone know of a site that shows a historical list of the rates that can be referred back to?

There's a large collection of tools on STEEMTOOLS.com, @michellecarter. However, I'm not aware of a tool that records historical price logs - I agree that would be useful.

I have a hard enough time finding an accurate price to buy, so if you stumble across a historical data tool, please do share! ✌😎

Thanks, I have browsed through the Steemtools.com so much there to take in!
Yes a historical page would be very useful
If I do find one then I will let you know!

Yes, it grows larger each day it seems. I find that exchanges have conflicting prices, so it might not be possible to attain any semblance of accuracy - which would eliminate the utility of the tool itself.

Who knows, I could be wrong and there might be one already..haha I'll certainly let you know if I find one as well @michellecarter

Wow, I've not been taking much notice of the price, just heard I needed to record it for daily rewards and thought checking it all once a week or month was better than daily!
I thought I'd read there was a limit as to how much it would fluctuate, between around 0.8 and 1.1, so that's not a big change anyway, but it could go higher?

Thanks @grow-pro

Now I'm curious, why do you need to record it for daily rewards? Are you familiar with SteemDB? here is a link to your rewards page on SteemDB:
https://steemdb.com/@michellecarter/authoring
As far as fluctuation in price, it was nearly $2.00 when I joined Steemit, so there is no limitations to price movement - it can be .10 or $10 - that's entirely up to the market.

I believe the value will go higher and that's why I've not yet taken any money out, but only put more in (in addition to what I have earned). My due diligence has led me to believe that powering up and holding steem power is the best way to 'invest' in the future of this platform.

This platform is in BETA phase and though some have been here for a year or more - this is still the beginning. We are very early to something that could potentially rock the world of social media in ways that have never been seen before.

If you have any questions about exchanges, I'm no expert but will do my best to answer. The https://steem.io shows exchanges (4) that support Steemit, however, Poloniex is disabled temporarily and has been for months - use the remaining 3 or Steemit Internal Exchange (accessible via your wallet).

Oh wow!! Thank you for that link, I had no idea about that! I can't see a way to download the information, is that possible?
Basically I watched a video by jerrybanofield showing how to copy and paste your daily rewards for accounting., so I was doing that, but this looks much easier even if it can't be downloaded.

Thanks for the other information, I do want to invest in Steemit and agree that it is an amazing opportunity re change in social media.

I don't understand the vests at all, and not great with exchanging, I just know enough to do the basics. I've bought Steem through Dash using the link in the wallet and that's about it!

So I'm going to ask and if you don't know then no problem, so what are most people doing re accounts for SBD and SP? I mean SP is an investment so you're not getting the money until you power down, but the paid price could be very different to the power down price.

Thanks for all your help, most useful, especially that link! :)

If one were not going to extract STEEM or SBD and wished to 'save' - then STEEM POWER is what they would want to save. I'll admit I was confused at first, but there are thankfully others who've explained this well, here is what a user @timcliff wrote:

With the inflationary nature of STEEM, looking at a traditional price chart for the currency is going to show a skewed perspective. The reason is because STEEM is not meant to be held as a long-term investment. The constant sell pressure from additional STEEM being created and sold on the exchanges will always put a downward pressure on the price.

Steem Power is meant to be a cushion against the inflation. The unit of a Steem Power is called a "vest". When you power up, you will get a certain number of 'vests' for the STEEM that you agree to lock up as part of the 2 year contract. As part of that contract, the blockchain will continue to add more STEEM to your vest in order to hedge against the inflation.

After powering up, the number of vests that you have will not change; but the amount of STEEM that you have powered up will. Unless of course you change the number of vests by powering down (which will decrease your vests), powering up (which will increase your vests), curating (which will increase), receiving author rewards (increase), etc. The important thing though is your vests remain yours unless you do something to change them.

See full cited post here


This is why I am powering up; the MVESTS are essentially a hedge and hold value in deflationary scenarios. Holding STEEM or SBD would not seem (to me anyhow) to be a wise long term investment. By powering up, you are subject to powering down, but...you're essentially loaning the funds to Steemit.

When I buy SBD, I buy it at low prices (when available) and wait until the ratio to SBD to STEEM tightens the spread - this allows me to maximize the amount of STEEM for the SBD I spend. I'm able to increase the amount of investment 10-20% before even powering up. That's another way to 'hedge'.

Having the voting power (since I'm not interested in taking the money out) helps me to generate earnings for content creators by voting (I upvote a lot..lol). It sounds very confusing, but I've been on Steemit for under 90 days so I'm likely no less confused than many others.

I'll try to find a few more articles I read that really helped me to see the value in this platform. I'll edit and tuck them in here as I recover the links. I hope this helps you @michellecarter and I look forward to a bright future for all of us! 🔥🚀

I'd love to know too, for tomorrow I plan to buy more. What's the best way to get some STEEM, not SBD?

Another issue I worry about is I have to send BTC to blocktrades currently to get STEEM or SBD. That's the only way, correct?

I've been buying at coinbase, sending the BTC to blocktrades, and then that puts it into my account. I'm being charged twice for that path. Is there a better way?

Exactly, you end up paying fees twice on the same money. It's like banking..LOL precisely what many of us are trying to get away from. There has to be a better way. I don't like that on coinbase they force you to buy quite a bit higher than the live price (even during a time when the price is crashing 20%!) {{you are absolutely guaranteed to lose unless the price steadily rises}} then charge you fees (that's double tax - nice and hidden) THEN you are subject to block trades pulling the same sly stuff - cost me today and to be honest - I don't like that. That's bad for business.

The whole point of decentralizing is to get away from manipulation and monopoly, but tell me what this seems like to you.. One way in and one way out - both controlled by toll collectors.. Am I on a state highway? 😆

I just bought $400 worth of BTC on Coinbase. They took almost 10% for their fee. :( Now I'm trying to time my transfer to Blocktrades as BTC bounces back from the 2950 mark today. Will I make it happen? I hope!

It was starting to drop, so I gave up on trying to recover the 10%. Bleah...

Note the time of transaction - coinbase also forces you to pay the highest possible price, so they are no different than a parasitic bank in my eyes. It's pretty sad. Coinbase and Changelly are Bleeding the people just like Uncle Sam does.

I wish you luck, my friend! I timed it pretty nicely yesterday and ended up getting double taxed by coinbase and then block trades too! They converted my money and literally snagged 15% right off the top. Then I bought some SP that was higher than the reflected market value and that lost 10% overnight..LOL uhh ok, so this reminds me of ticket scalping and why I don't go to concerts anymore

I'm new to cryptocurrency but I've found that the fees are so much less with Dash than Bitcoin, so if you're buying to buy or transfer on then buying in dash might be cheaper, it's a few cents as opposed to dollars for a transaction.

Also I bought some bitcoin / crypto from a peer to peer to site and that cut out all the trading fees. Not sure which part of earth you're in, but in the UK I use BitBargain and it's been fine.

Thanks! Yeah, I'm really only buying to get SP into my account, and I think that means it has to be BTC, right? I don't think I have gotten LTC to work. Coinbase would not allow me to send LTC to blocktrades to get SP into my account here. I had to use BTC. Maybe there's another way.

If you click the drop down menu on the 'buy' button then you can choose to buy in another currency. I've bought in Dash and it worked ok. Screen Shot 2017-09-17 at 20.12.29.png

How do I get fiat from my bank into Dash though? There's a cheaper way to do that than going from fiat to coinbase to blocktrades to steemit? Please, if there's a cheaper and easier way, I'm all ears! :) I don't care what I have to go through in the middle. I have fiat in a bank, and I need it to go to SP. haha

Like I see "BlockTrades Labor(USD)" and wonder what that is. Can I use a bank account to go directly to BlockTrades?

Hmmm, maybe a bitshare account to blocktrades to steemit?

I did a Peer to Peer exchange to buy crypto, if you use Exodus Wallet then you can exchange from bitcoin to dash and send dash to buy your steam.

In the UK I used BitBargain to do the peer to peer purchase. I'm sure if you search there will be an equivalent if you're not in the UK.

So I bought peer to peer through Bitbargain to Exodus Wallet then sent from there to BlockTrades as Dash and it showed up in my Steemit wallet from there.

Many of those "Pairs" are not supported..for examples, Bitshares to STEEM or SBD is not supported. You'll find block trades supports very few "pairs"' so only DASH, BTC, Litecoin and maybe 1 or 2 more on that list.

It is pretty confusing when transferring and exchanging - which seems to have been the intent..lol Like banks that take your money then turn around and charge you to get it back from an ATM.

People should be careful if they want to use coinbase too. LTC to blocktrades does not work on Coinbase for me. It says the address is invalid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00