What is Steem going to do about all these voting bots?

in #steem8 years ago

All I see now are 2-3 minute old post with mountains of votes from new accounts that barely have any steem power. This has a very corrosive effect on the network imho. First of all, any posts that gets these votes will most likely not be upvoted by established members as the bot accounts would essentially be profiting. So this actually damages legitimate posters and may have a very destructive effect on the network over time.

These small bot accounts may not have much sway right now, but over time their voting weight will begin to accumulate and these Steem bot networks will then start to be leased to the highest bidders on various blackhat forums.

As word spreads about the money being made on Steemit, the amount of bot behavior will increase a great deal. I f***ing guarantee it!! The devs and the community need to address this issue right now!!

Sort:  

Still stirs feelings of beginners when you see 35 upvotes think will bombar among the top most do not earn $ 0.0000000000001 Cents. Damn troll.

yes i agree it could become a problem

you put the steemit tag and appear ... I have all day watching this, this needs to stop

LOL, I wanted to do the same today.
I made a post in 1 mi. I had 46 upvotes and 0.00
I comment on another post saying this. This is awkward.

These bot votes can be stopped via captcha or limits placed on newly created accounts. This bot is only using a small numbers of accounts and it's already having a noticeable effect. Now, imagine thousands of accounts controlled by different bot operators!! It will be a nightmare.

People will continuously attempt to game a system or profit from any and all opportunities.

I agree, something needs to be done. I've actually just made a post myself as have many others and I think with all the ideas floating around it would be possible to consolidate a plan of action against these damn bots.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jayjustmay/attack-of-the-blockchain-bots-and-potentially-how-to-deal-with-them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50