Why Does Payout Sometimes Go Down When You Upvote Something?

in #steem8 years ago

I have upvoted articles and posts several times and actually seen the payout amount drop by several cents right after I clicked to upvote. This seems so counter-intuitive; what makes this can happen? I don't want to take anyone's payouts away!

Sort:  

Ive seen this too and have no idea. Maybe the steem rate goes down on the market.

I was actually thinking the same thing, maybe it could be based on user reputation?

Because you are voting too many times in a short period of time. If you vote and vote and vote you will dilute your voting power. Do you need this in technical terms because I just tried to make it as simple as possible. Hope this helps

will your power dedilute cause in the begining i just upvoted everything as i tought i would get the most power then

Without getting super technical yes over time. I don't know the exact time frame unfortunately but try spreading your votes out through out the day and in the mean time u can do this https://steemit.com/steemit/@bjones/why-it-pays-to-comment-helping-you-with-incentives

Yea, but that doesn't explain how I can bring down other people's value. I'm talking about when I see a post with let's say 5 votes and a pending payout of $.33 and then i upvote it and it goes down to like $.31 or something. I'm thinking @karbonxx may be right and it's just market rates changing.

I just told you, I suggest you read the white paper but basically voting and voting and voting is an attempt to abuse the system. So to correct this steemit has device a way to even the playing field so to speak. So the more you vote the more you dilute your voting power. It regenerates slowly. Try this, wait a few hours or so then vote again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82