You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Believe Sun, Or Believe His PR Team?

in #steem4 years ago

DPOS stands for Delegated Proof of Stake, as opposed to PoW, or proof of work, like Bitcoin is. There, they mine for Bitcoin. Here, we buy and power up STEEM, and then use the SP for most of what we do on chain.

re: Binance

It originated in China, but it appears that somewhere in 2017 they moved everything to Japan due to a pending ban on crypto in China.

re: open letter

If you're talking about his latest post after the soft fork, I agree with exyle—he doesn't have a whole lot of choice but to come to the table and discuss his plans. Obviously, he should have at least been in communication with the Witnesses before now, but apparently he wasn't.

You didn't ask this question, but I feel like it's implied—who do I trust?

The answer is, no one. Sun is yet to prove trustworthy based on the conflicting information that continues to come from his PR folks (or him), and because of his dealings with TRON.

However, the Witnesses have pretty much set a precedence with the soft fork and binding of STEEM stake, no matter how temporary that it might be, and have open the door for potential freeze outs in the future. At the very least, I think it's a slippery slope, and if at all, it should have been the last resort, not essentially the second one (there are claims of attempts to talk to him).

Lost in all of this is the Steemit Team. I got the strong sense from Andrarchy and the others was they were essentially asking for time to talk to the TRON folks, which is supposed to happen this week, to allow for some road mapping, etc.

Apparently, that wasn't good enough for the Witnesses and whichever 'community members' I keep reading about who were apart of the closed doors discussions.

Sort:  

Ok, so the witnesses acted very fast to send a strong message. But we don't know if that was the best play or not. But at least Sun is setting up the meeting between his people and ours for discussions so that's good, right?

I guess we'll find out, if something doesn't happen between now and March 6.

It's not like I don't see their point of view. Up until they did it, I was starting to lean towards something like that, but as a last resort, after much more than what apparently has already happened. Before coming to that conclusion, I was opposed to any hint or talk about doing it to Steemit Inc. when it first became an issue last year.

Somehow, someway, people have gotten it into their heads that Steemit's stake is illegitimate, that it should belong to the community, and as such, it's not really Steemit's to control.

Even though without Steemit, or those behind it, there wouldn't be a STEEM blockchain. It's kind of like being invited to live in someone's house and then essentially taking it over.

I keep hearing how everyone's free to use their stake as they will, but that doesn't seem to go for Steemit.

It actually doesn't really go for any of us, if we manage to get in the crosshairs of those who strongly disagree with what we're doing and have enough stake to do something about it.

Might continues to make right here, and right now, the witnesses and I imagine the upper SP are flexing their collective muscles.

How Sun is ultimately going to take this, I don't know. He's good at talking out of both sides of his mouth, depending on the audience and the circumstances. If he really wants to destroy the STEEM blockchain by trying to somehow bring it all to TRON, this isn't going to stop him.

Supposedly he's got a billion dollars worth of TRON sitting out on an exchange somewhere, in addition to what the TRON foundation has on chain. If that's even remotely true, he's got a big enough war chest to crush any attempts anyone here might try, including this warning shot across the bow.

So, I'm hoping that someone is watching the different portals and trying to see which new accounts powering up are potentially connected to Sun, because otherwise, this move is all for naught.

I don't know. It feels a lot like poking a sleeping bear. But if your trapped inside the cave with it and it's lying at the entrance, that might be your only way to get out, by getting it to move and hoping it's still asleep enough to avoid getting mauled.

Okay, this is a much clearer picture of the situation, thanks sir Glen! I just hope tempers don't get riled and everyone gets along and the two development teams like each other and can agree on goals that will benefit each side or both sides or both blockchains.

I'd like to think that there will be some calm worthwhile discussion come out of this, but I'm not holding my breath. I think it depends on who leads the discussion, or who represents the interests of the witnesses (which supposedly are the interests of the blockchain and all the stakeholders, you and me). So far, I'm not feeling very represented in any of this.

I nominate sir Glen to speak for the stakeholders!

I'm afraid I'm the last one you all need to do that! I know I personally don't need it. :)

The reluctant leaders are always the best ones! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70