You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dolphin 541,753—Monthly Report: November (2019)

in #steem5 years ago

Hey, @bashadow.

re: wife

Thank you. It's really weird having her being the one constantly having something to fix. Which I guess really means she really needs to be home, where the risk of injury isn't totally gone, but it's reduced. I don't have a quick answer for that, though, so I'm just hoping we can get through this and at some point, it gets resolved satisfactorily.

re: downvotes

And see, this will probably sound strange, but it's not the downvoting that's getting to me. It's the further drop in engagement.

I mean, I appreciate anyone upvoting my posts. There must be a reason for it, which I would guess has less to do with the actual content post to post, but the potential for curation rewards I've been generating.

However, autovotes tend to take away comments, because fewer and fewer are reading. If you're going to try to earn rewards without posting, you need to cover a lot of ground to make something via curation. It's been happening more and more over the course of the last almost two years and this last round just got worse.

So, between those who have left period and so are no longer commenting, and those who have picked up the pace on autovotes since HF21, and in my case, a reduced amount of time on STEEM, and probably other factors, I'm seeing less comments. Which means less people reading.

And that makes it harder for me to post, knowing that even though I'm getting more rewards, fewer folks want to talk about anything I've written.

Sort:  

It does seem that way at times. I watch the League Weekly numbers pretty good, this last Sunday the comments seemed to have picked back up a little bit, I imagine they will be down again the last week of Dec and First week of Jan, but I think it is a bit to do with the holidays, I am hoping it is a holiday slowdown, but I do think the over all trend has been fewer comments.

I struggle just to get my monthly report out I am not that good of a data person. What I would like to see though is some better tracking of steem activities, of useful tracking. How many post were made, how many contest were advertised, how many contest entries were there, how many made a #tagwhatever post, like (foodfightfriday), basically some weekly tracking to see how steem is doing steem-wide not just a small slice of the league members. I know we have some of those numbers available, but not in a very usable easy to look at form.

Well, so the posts made can be found with penguinpablo's reports—with and without comments—and to a degree, the tag one exists if you go look at steemit.com/tags, but it's not all tags as far as I can tell. For contests and entries, I've never seen anything like that.

I can't remember totally what happened last year, other than I know I wasn't at it as hard during the holidays, but it seems like things rolled on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59736.86
ETH 2416.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43