You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Why in the world would I want my tweets immutable?" - A Case for Censorship Resistant Social Media

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Ideally, I would like to see the full control of the social media content to be in the hands of the user. Let the users toggle the options to keep their content immutable, forgotten after some time, private and only accessible by user defined permissions, etc.

P.S. For example: Often we see companies monetizing users’ data with ad revenues or selling data. Steemit is doing the same, other front-ends will too. I am all for Steemit to become more profitable and sustainable with ads; I want them to be successful. But once they become big, I would like to be able to set the permissions if they can use my data for those profiting purposes or not. Or only allow certain platforms I give permission to use the data.

Sort:  

Yeah that is a great point and something that I think could be accomplished quite easily. In fact the idea of try social accounts that would be UI specific would allow this, but then that content would only be seen on that UI. I’m not sure of a technical way it could be picked up by each front end but not be held on chain, but maybe there is a way.

I think giving users ownership and choices with their data is pretty powerful.

The way it can be done is if all data is initially encrypted when stored on blockchain. Then user can choose to make it visible (decrypted) to all users, select users, select communities, etc in the settings. In a similar manner user can also authorize UIs or revoke authorization from UIs to display the data.

P.S. We already have a similar function with encrypted memos.

Steem is a little more complicated because of the rewarding function. If you expect to be rewarded by Steem stakeholders for your contributions I don't think it is reasonable to have it only be visible to your friends, or even, in most cases, to remove it later (after rewards have been paid).

It could always be tried but I know as a stakeholder I would be downvoting and not upvoting any encrypted content put on the chain that I can't even see which is also asking for rewards.

Not every usage of Steem has to involve rewards though, and there are some big ones on here already that don't. Perhaps such an app could be developed that offers social type features, restricted visibility using encryption, and uses Steem but either without the reward pool aspect, or with a narrower pool (using SMTs, etc.)

Yes, I agree. Not making the content visible to all, would automatically decline rewards. UIs would hide encrypted content.

I think, at some point in the future reward pool for content will be removed anyway, once SMTs show different use cases for rewarding content. Tribes already showing that Steem can function fine without the Steem reward pool.

Regarding removing the content after some time, it is a reasonable feature to give the users, maybe after a year or two. There can also be a return of rewards back to the pool when removing content or revoking authorization to display the content.

All good points!

Exactly. Just another key pair or two (or three) in our pki keychain...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82