Steem Doing Badly

in #steem5 years ago

image.png

image.png
Both images are from https://coinmarketcap.com/.

The market is all red today, Bitcoin has gone down so everything else goes down with it. But it really saddens me that Steem is acting so badly it is one of worst placed coins right now in the top hundred, and it has been behaving this erratically for some time not being able to keep up with the other coins.

It has me very demotivated, I am actually gambling any liquid Steem I get my hands on, at least I get a kick out of that, because expecting Steem to go up is likely a fool's errand, I see no way where Steem gets out of this lethargy, least of all with the corporate team we have.

Instead of going to the moon we are probably going to the center of the earth, I think you can't go lower than that.

Sort:  

Its distressing, but not a tragedy yet. Verge, Tron, Ontology, Theta, OmiseGo all did worse then Steem and Steem only did slightly worse then Siacoin, NEM, Maker. And Steem is still 100% up from its bear market low. If Bitcoin returns to anything close to its all time high, Just the tide raising all boats will bring Steem way north of a buck, if not back to quite a bit more. At least thats my somewhat less then educated take on things.

Edited to add: If we go down to the mid .20 range again and form a double bottom that could be very good for the long term health of Steem. But wouldn't that be a scary ride.

People need to keep going. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Stay positive and don't let the price motivate your behavior. I remember when you were rep 59 you were pessimist like that.

Tomorrow 20k steps on Actifit and Steem On!

Posted using Partiko Android

No, I'm only doing between 11 and 12 k a day it is too hot around here.

I've always thought that people who associate with Steemit to make money from it are a burden to it. As a result, I think it has the reputation among outsiders as a failed/failing get rich quick scheme - repulsing people who are looking for other things.

I'm cool with it going to near zero to flush gold diggers. They strike me as people who have far more in common with prostitutes than anyone I would actually want to interact or exchange information with.

The problem is that it is not Steemit that is going to zero it is Steem, a crypto coin as long as this coin is down the social platform will stay down. Everyone comes here to make money in fact that is what crypto coins are all about anyone saying they are here for the interaction is actually only fooling him or herself.

'Everyone comes here to make money...' People who interact as a means of playing a kind of popularity game for profit - Wow, they pretty much peg the meter for fun and interesting people, don't they?

I'm sure you are right about there being a difference between Steem and Steemit, as you can see, I couldn't care less. Could it be that areas like art, spirit and communication are intrinsically diametrically opposed to being monetized and to the degree that they are monetized, it directly reduces their qualities of art, spirit and communication?

I kind of think this discussion is as futile as trying to convince a prostitute that relationships are better if they aren't based on monetary valuation.

Are you fixated on prostitutes? That is about all you talk about, anything happened to you as a child?

That response suits you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50