You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The largest REP in the world

in #steem5 years ago

I'm not far off 74 which I'm happy with I guess. I used to think it meant something, and maybe it does/did, but in general I think now that it doesn't make me better, or someone with a rep of 45 worse.

Maybe it just demonstrates persistence on the blockchain. It would be nice to think it meant that my posts had a certain level of quality however as a circle jerk voting within itself on rubbish content also raises rep that's not necessarily the case.

I remember in the early days when someone with a larger rep iInto the 60's at that point 2.5 years ago) would vote on me I'd make an effort to engage with them more, understanding that relationships with those people may be advantageous. Now, I've got 70+ and don't see new people I vote and comment on doing the same as I did...So maybe the rep is not as highly regarded these days.

Anyway, you only got 79 dude...You must be shit.

Sort:  

it doesn't make me better, or someone with a rep of 45 worse.

I have heard of people who only reply on high reps, but I am pretty rep blind and as long as the comment is decent, I reply. Obviously when starting out it is probably good to comment on higher reps, but once higher yourself, it s good to set an example.

Maybe it just demonstrates persistence on the blockchain.

I think this is what it is for many, other is it just that they got the right support early and kept it.

.So maybe the rep is not as highly regarded these days.

I think many don't regard it or even know what it really is these days as it has fallen out of favor in posts as it lost its meaning through bidbots.

It is pretty meaningless, unless you apply meaning to it - like all reputations.

It is pretty meaningless, unless you apply meaning to it - like all reputations.

So...End my posts with:

You just read a post from me, titan of the blockchain, but not as magnificent as some with my good, but not great, rep of 73.817

Hmm...

Lol.

Something like that :D

On second thoughts, probably not. Lol.

I think 2-2.5 years ago there was less rep/vote buying and so a 65+ rep meant the user had stake, or friends in high places.

Nowadays, they'll give out these 79's to anyone ;)

Nowadays, they'll give out these 79's to anyone ;)

So pointless, there's barely even a queue.

Not at present, but if the STEEM buyers queue grows, there will be :)

Nowadays, they'll give out these 79's to anyone

Quite clearly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44