You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Steem talk] What it takes

in #steem5 years ago

I find your passion and drive to be very inspirational.

I have to live extremely sparse to do this full time. For me it's worth it, because I believe in the future of Steem, and this is not only an investment into my financial future, this is an investment into the friends I've made here, and newcomers alike.

It's nice to know we're making a positive impact on the lives of others bro, regardless of the current value.

It would be interesting to see what happens with the bid bots if the value of Steem skyrockets. I wonder if those bid bot owners would keep their Steem locked in the bots if it was 200 USD a Steem? It's an interesting thing to ponder, because unlocking that Steem, even for sell off, might do good things for the Steem economy.

Nice thoughts, well written bro. I feel like a whale should vote this post. 🙄

Sort:  

Such an insightful reply. Thank you for reading. Whale will vote whatever they like, whatever they want, and whichever popped up on their feed at the right time. So, can't demand that for sure.

As for Steem goes to $200, things will really change because the payout is in SBD(USD). This post for example, at 6$ current standing, 1.5$ will go back to the curators, balance 2.25$ will be given as SBD. But, the sad part is the SP portion will have to use 2.25$ divide by 200$ steem price, that said I'm getting back 0.011SP only 🤣 So what's it gonna be? When that happens, there's no turning back.

My previous post what SBD meant to me, they're Steemit's SMT token. Nothing more, only less. Their sole puroise is meant for payout. They're not even supposed to have blockchain value. We can't do away with SBD. Whilst steem below 1$, it's better to power up as much as possible rather than spend. Whatever Steem we spend today, will be over spent tomorrow when Steem go above 1$(not to mention 200$)

Posted using Partiko Android

Whatever Steem we spend today, will be over spent tomorrow when Steem go above 1$(not to mention 200$)

Also a very good insight. It's difficult for some to understand this in my experience of trying to explain it, but yeah, you have a solid conceptual understanding. I appreciate your thoughts. A little diversification and day trading never hurt anyone.. (wait that's probably wrong).. I am so addicted to Steem, I can't even bring myself to diversity.. LOL.

I've never been a fan of SBD's. To me, it's like you say, a wannabe SMT that isn't good for much, but I could be missing something.

I'm considering banking up my SBD's for a while to wait for a better time to trade them for Steem. That is risky too, because there might not be a better time than now.. Never know.. 🤪

There is this method called dollar cost averaging. I use that to stack my SBDs 10s in a group, by batch parking pending orders all the way DOWN to speculate for better price. If you have not use that, check with investopedia.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice resource man, bookmarked! Thank you.

I'm trying to learn trading a bit more academically. It's kind of a side project of mine currently. Nothing says I can't try my luck with some small amounts and see what happens. Worst case, I'll get wrecked, but life has dealt me so many blows I can take it 😅

You can't go broke by trading cost averaging. Technically, you're speculating between cryptos. Parking SBD for lower Steem price has absolutely nothing to do with USD. All you care is, when Steem cheaper then SBD by how much, you liquidate your SBD for Steem. Either way, you're hodling Steems or SBDs. And if Steem goes 200$ right away, well… those parked orders are still your SBDs. Take them out for a beer or two.

Parking SBD for lower Steem price is exactly what I'm speaking of. If it's called speculating, then I just learned something new ;)

Thanks for letting me practice my broken Engrish 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I try to purposely use copious amounts of complicated vocabulary to help you bro, and sometimes I end up in a juxtaposition, but essentially, I believe it's working 😉

Left out one point. SBD is the first and most successful SMT that people doesn't even know it's importance. Print the SBD, use them and burn them. Just like clock work and yet nobody give a damn of its importance. Have you notice you're breathing right now? No, because your lungs functioning well. Ask a lung cancer patient, they can feel their lungs working every single breathe. The only problem is, they can tell you the problem when they have a problem, but when they can't tell you anymore, that's when they stop functioning. This is SBD.

It's difficult for me to see the importance you speak of, probably because I do not have a good enough conceptual understanding. I don't try to pretend to know shit that I don't know.

This is what I understand about SBD's. It's supposed to be a pegged "SMT" of sorts right? Not sure if it's actually considered one or not..

The peg has not held from what I've seen. We've seen it over a dollar, and under a dollar plenty of times. Are the mechanics even in place to make it pegged? And if not, why would it be considered pegged?

The last point, is most of the Steemian's I know around the blockchain, sell their SBD immediately for Steem. So, this is good for obtaining more Steem, but what is it really doing for Steem? Perhaps, I just don't get it , but I am eager to understand it better.

OK put it this way. The feds said they have x amount of gold in the reserves. They print x amount of paper money for you guys to spend and burn. What actually affect the value of the paper money is how you spend it and how you guys burn it. What the feds care now, is how they control the flow of the printed money.

Gold = steem
USD = SBD

Now imagine this, if California decided they need to go economically independent and start to print their California dollar called CD. Base in what they print their dollars?

California = dApp
California dollar = SMT

Technically, SBD is already an SMT. They are here to regulate the usage of Steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a really good analogy. This definitely puts it in better context for me. Thanks bro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59049.70
ETH 2618.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44