The Resource credits test: how much does each operation does cost?

in #steem6 years ago

Knipsel.PNG
Source

Well I quickly ran some tests to see how much each action on the Steem blockchain does cost.

Attention this isnot an accurate test, but based on refreshing steemd before and after the action.
To bad I decided to write down the resource credit % I did have. It would have been better to do this based on the current Mana status.
My max mana is 3,011,524,395,539. So I did try to convert it to Mana. The % change was multiplied by my max mana, to get a cost per action in Mana. I do know this is not accurate, but the closest I could come.

Posting on the steem blockchain

Before the post I did have 26.49% resource credits after the post I di have 25.63%.
So posting does cost around 0.86% of the resource credits! Which does reflect around 25,899,109,801 mana for posting.

Following on the steem blockchain

Before the follow (I used @reggaemuffin for this test) I did have 25.56% and after the follow it dropped to 25.54%. So a cost of 0.02% resource credits! (602,304,879 Mana)

Commenting on the steem blockchain

A comment does cost around the same as a post. Before the comment I did have 26.49% resource credits after the comment was published it was 25.68%. So a cost of around 0.81% resource credits, a little bit less than creating a post! (24,393,347,603 Mana)

Powering up!

Luckily I did have some Steem to power up for this test. I did power up 0.07 Steem.
Before the power up I did have 25.55% resource credit and after the power up this did decrease to 25.46%. So a cost of 0.09% resource credits! (2,710,371,955 Mana)

Upvoting a post or comment

Strangly I did exppect that this would be one of the cheapest actions to perform on the steem blockchain but it wasn't. I did cost me 0.1% of resource credits. The resource credits before and after the action were: 25.47% and 25.37%. (3,011,524,395 Mana)

Claiming unclaimed rewards

Of course this also has a cost. Before the claim I did have 26.47%, after the claim 26.46%. So the cheapest action on the blockchain. (301,152,439 Mana)

Casting a witness vote

Also here @reggaemuffin was used for this test. But I will keep on following :)
Before the witness vote 25.63%, after the witness vote 25.55%. So a decline of 0.08%, which does reflect around 2,409,219,516 Mana

Selling SBD on the internal market

Was very curious towards the cost of this action. Before I did sell my SBD for Steem, I did have 25.65% and after the order was placed it was 25.53%. So a cost of 0.12%, which does reflect 3,613,829,274 Mana.

Results

actionMana
Posting25,899,109,801 Mana
Commenting24,393,347,603 Mana
Internal market3,613,829,274 Mana
Upvoting3,011,524,395 Mana
Powering up2,710,371,955 Mana
Wintess vote2,409,219,516 Mana
Following602,304,879 Mana
Claiming rewards301,152,439 Mana

No idea if there is already an official table, but this is what I came up with.
If there is any mistake, please let me know!

Cheers,
Peter


Sports Bettors On Steemit Unite and Join the SBC !


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

Interesting. Thanks

Was this done by checking out steemd or by using a program? Once equilibrium has been reached(4 more days I think), I'll probably do a few tests with code with the hopes of getting accurate answers. Also, I think I remember reading that these are dynamic so they probably will change with network usage like bandwidth was.

I did the test using steemd.

Good work man... Information is worthy ,
thanks.

Your welcome. I noticed that some costs are also explained on steemd but not all of them.
And commenting seems the same as posting!

This is really useful information. What it shows is that for new Steemians, with just 15 SP, it will be very difficult to use Steemit.

Fresh Steemians will have around 30,000,000,000 RC, which means after one post and one upvote they will not be able to use Steemit anymore for transactions. Based on the current RC recharge time (5 days) it will take 4 days to create the next post, where users need to refrain from any other transaction.

Now I understand the system is still finding its equilibrium but if the current state would be final, new Steemians would need to invest at least hundred dollars of Steem to have a usable tool.

I hope I'm wrong with my quick assessment so please comment...

We will have to wait 1 or 2 weeks to be able to make better conclusions.
But yes it will be harder for newcomers! For sure!

Can you tell whether there's a difference in RC use according to what percentage of upvote you use?

As far as I can see it doesn't make a difference so the RC consumption for a 1% upvote is the same as a 100% upvote.

That is also my assumption!

Thanks for doing all these tests, it’s really helpful. Hopefully this helps Steem down the line!

Hi @fullcoverbetting!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.647 which ranks you at #5256 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 726 contributions, your post is ranked at #376.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72