You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Censorship and suppression of free speech on Steem. Really?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Steemit is having the living snot censored out of it. Because of that I'm not doing posts about several subjects that I'd like to do posts about. I think that the idea that because a flagged post can still be opened, it's not really censored, is utter bollocks!

Once we piss off the wrong account, we are all over for ever more

Here is where I'm not going to link to some posts or accounts that I would privately link to on Discord (froX) or email ([email protected])

But that is a subject we can't discuss...

Sort:  

Depends on what you consider censorship I think. If people want to get their words out, they can get their words out here and they can even do it with anonymity.

But they can watch their account get taken down to sub zero so that nobody can see what their posts actually are - not even their own followers - and yes that has happened to two of my friends because of an "account" I can't mention!

Depends on the interface used I think. An interface can ignore all flags if it wants, payouts will still be affected though. An interface can leave off flags altogether too of course.

Given that 90% of people here use the Steemit interface, once an account has a sub zero rating it's all over on Steemit really.

Here is where I give you no picture, and no link, because I know what happens next if I do.

Is that censorship?

Self-censorship.

I also think that the steemit.com interface is down to something like 40% but I haven't seen the numbers for a few months. It has dropped away massively with partiko, esteem, steempeak and steeve taking a large percentage away.

none of those sites really work properly - i'd use steempeak now they have fixed the image size on the feed - but they still haven't fixed the comments...

and steempeak hides flagged posts even more!

partiko is just for bloody phones

everyone i talk to still uses steemit except they use busy for posting to get the upvote - otherwise busy is crap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70979.31
ETH 3711.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79