Steem Is Alive And Well!

in #steem4 years ago (edited)

steem.jpg

For weeks I have been watching and participating in the exchange of opinions. There has been an incredible amount of opinions, assumptions, and speculation. Today I am taking a moment to reflect on what is happening and put together my vision as a content creator.

Back in 2017 I joined the Steem community. I was homesteading in Southern Missouri, and was introduced to the world of crypto currency. I started to share my videos filled with my thoughts, opinions, and perspective. I began to have some fun and write random posts about things that were happening in my daily life.

I quickly found that there is a place for everyone. If you had a certain niche that you enjoyed, you could just hang out with that type of content. If you wanted to get to know more people that shared your views and ideas, you could also find them. The platform was filled with a positive and uplifting energy. Sure there were issues with bid bots, and a junked up trending page, but generally there wasn't alot of negative flying around.

Sure ifyou go looking for trouble you could find it, but that is not what I was about, and I am still not about that. I remember coming together and talking with people about chickens, cameras, videos, how to use mark down.... Steem was filled with individuals that were always willing to help each other to be the best version of them that they wanted to be.

Today a new blockchain launched. It isn't like a typical hardfork. It took many amazing and talented developers, and content creators with it. There is no doubt that the Steem community took a hit. That's just it...it was a hit. Steem isn't dead. It is alive and well. As long as individuals believe in it. I believe in it.

For weeks I have heard that the hardfork was what "the community" wanted. That may be. Sure it may be what "that community" wanted, but that community is not the Steem community and they have chosen another path. The Steem community that I remember is still here. It lives in the strength of creative ideas, and a willingness to see what this can become. There are still many users that are using both, and I think that is amazing. I believe that anyone that is still actively using and building on the Steem Blockchian..is the Steem community.

As a content creator, I will continue to create on Steem. Yes, one of my accounts was on the blacklist for an airdrop, but that is not what this is about. I can't shake the feeling I get when I think about what Steem has always been to me. When I first started I knew nothing about anything happening on the backend, or "the top". I didn't even give a thought to how or why something was running the way it was. I was simply enjoying the experience. I know plenty more now, but I want to move forward with the original feeling in my guts.

I believe that Steem is well, and can even become something so much more amazing. I don't dwell on what might have been "lost", but I am focused on the opportunities ahead. Steem has been built and changed, and changed again the whole time I have been here. People saw a need for a feature, and then they built it! Then someone came along and made it better, and so on.

I believe that the void of what may be missing on the Steem blockchain can be filled with innovative ideas, and the move of someone who may have yet to have a voice in the community. I want to encourage everyone that is reading this to think about what they would like Steem to become, and how can we get there!

If you are a developer, think about the opportunities to create and innovate. If you are a witness, think about what you can do for the community and the opportunity to be a part of something new. If you are a creator, think about the ways that your content may impact the people that are still yet to hear of Steem.

The past is the past. We are here now. The future is looking bright.

Please resteem this, and share it with the community. Let's make something happen!

selfie.jpg

Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3

https://steemit.com/@freedompoint

Sort:  

Sure it may be what "that community" wanted, but that community is not the Steem community and they have chosen another path.

It feels to me that the Hive is not so much a community but a clique. STEEM is following its corporate roots to the Nth degree. The airdrop blacklist was so vindictive is tasted vile to me. ✌😎

Steem community will live on, no doubt. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43