What kind of bot do you want to see on STEEM?

in #steem6 years ago

I recently started developing steem-bots and kind of got addicted to it. I still have some ideas of what to build and how to improve my current bots, but I am already wondering what I could develop next.

dont-hodl-buidl-how-blockchain-tech-will-add-value-in-2018-1024x683.jpeg
buidl - source

So please let me know what kind of bot you would like to see or use. What should it do? Financial Services, Games, Information, ...
I am also happy to collaborate on more complex ideas.

I will put a Steem bounty to reward everyone with a good idea.

Sort:  

I think building some games to mak steem more fun would be a great addition. If you want to collaborate maybe we should get together.

developing games is great. I tried it a few times, but the games I develop always end up being overly complex. The secret is making a game simple yet still deep enough and I it seems I cant come up with these simple and beautiful ideas.

If you have any ideas I am very interested to contribute though.

Another bot idea i think could be useful is a service that lets you share your post on other social media or vice versa, such as auto posting if your youtube content, facebook, twitter etc or vice versa

That is an amazing idea!

Hi my friend, first of all thank you to join our steem-bounty family. I think right now in Steemit after HF20 the only bot is needed is charity bot, which can help users to get more RC to be able to write on Steemit. I know that platform was made on profit task, but it is also true what my friend justmeagain wrote about Steemit whitepaper:
There are two ways people can get involved with a crypto-currency community: they can buy in, or they can work in. In both cases users are adding value to the currency, however, the vast majority of people have more free time than they do spare cash. Imagine the goal of bootstrapping a currency in a poor community with no actual cash but plenty of time. If people can earn money by working for one another then they will bootstrap value through mutual exchange facilitated by a fair accounting/currency system.
https://steem.io/SteemWhitePaper.pdf
So i think a charity bot should keep the right of second way of it!!

This is a really fantastic idea. I think there is a lot of potential there. Collect sp from supporters. Then give out time limited delegations to new accounts after a brief manual review.

In order to motivate people to donate a part of their sp can be used to support them as a thank you.
The only problem is see is that you cannot delegate delegations. The bot wants to delegate to newcommers, but it needs sp and the most natural idea would be to collect that via delegations... .So instead of delegating it should work with donations, potentially refundable. This may make adoption by supporters much harder.

I think I can develop the code on my own and it is actually not that complivated since I can reuse some parts from another bot. What I need is people wanting to promote this bot. And it would be great if anyone has an idea how to bypass the delegating delegations problem.

If anyone is interested in supporting this project, please let me know!

Dear my friend, of course i would like to support your project, but if you will connect it with @knircky which is the developer of @steem-bounty it would be great, your knowelage and his potential could be a super join venture and of course i will do my best to support it!

An event bot would be a pretty cool idea you could say send it some steem and it would let your followers know you're hosting something like a live stream at a certain time and date you could say how often or how long before you need to remind people

I always tend to miss out on live streams because I forget! Ive been using the reminder bot but thats only for myself, if it could be for your audience that would be helpful

This is a good idea, but in order to make it a success it need massive advertisement. And that is one of my big weaknesses.

I agree, its really hard to get your projects noticed on steemit you need to do plenty of manual outreach and get larger accounts to want to test it out and let their audience know about it. Its also a UX issue in my opinion. If you could deploy a bot to steemit and in the post creation process theres a drop down of bots you could use in this post and their various functions I think it would eliminate the need for such a heavy marketing drive and organic use would push popularity

With current situation, I think there should be some type of bot for renting Steem Power delegation, and it may have some options to delegate Steem Power for free. Maybe something like @steem-bounty would work well.

Maybe one that posts a daily list of all contests on SteemIt. It would be useful, but I guess it's rather undoable because the 'contest' tag is used for winner announcements too.

We can never have enough bots like Trufflepig, which showcases undervalued authors...

Thanks to everyone commenting here. So many great ideas!


well to be honest free upvoting and resteem bot! after HF2 becuse of steemit newbie they cant comment after 2 comment only. they need more resource credits/bandwith like this one! 👇

@cleverbot @banjo @automation

You are really computer!

I like to talk about complex things because I find it interesting and that means that the things we have been talking about are more confusing by default.

Strangers waiting Up and down the boulevard Their shadows searching In the night Streetlights, people Livin' just to find emotion Hidin' somewhere in the night.

Hah, cool. I've also made couple of my own bots (3) but they actually don't run. Well e.g. a betting bot would be cool. Person could send SBD with an id of a match and bot just uses some sports portal api to get the results. Also, he offers the matches daily in a post - that's where the ID would come from.

Another one would be the "hunter" of self-upvoters. Dont want to say more as I hope to start that one after my thesis defense is done in couple of weeks :D

Best of luck with ur projects :) I might write u once the thesis is defensed. Maybe we could create something together :)

Hi sport betting is great. I actually already made a similar bot in the past but choose to not run it due to legal concerns. Where I am based a special permit is needed to run betting sites or lotteries and even though it probably would never happen I could in theory go to jail for it.

  • Auto captions for memes
  • RemindMe!
  • IPFS storage renting
  • Youtube to IPFS crawler

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62284.56
ETH 2424.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58