You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive chain coming is a SHAME TIME for Steem.

in #steem4 years ago

why do these people so decisive to make a soft fork to block assets after Justin Sun bought Steem Inc.? Is this two standard for the same thing?

They didn't do it in response to Justin Sun purchasing Steemit. They did it in response to Justin Sun using genesis stake for blockchain governance
https://cointelegraph.com/news/tron-community-in-uproar-as-genesis-coins-used-in-super-reps-vote

That doesn't mean we should agree with what they did. If we don't trust them on Hive, we remove their witness votes and either start competition or vote for competition. This is the social experiment I was looking for when signing up with steem - the idea that stake holders choose representation (Distributed Proof of Stake). For DPoS to complete it's experiment, genesis stake can't be held by the creators for use in governance.

That doesn't mean I think Steem is evil, wrong, or bad. It does mean that Steem is no longer DPoS. It's straight forward Proof of Stake with a single stake holder making the decisions. That isn't what I signed up for.

I can't say if things will go well for hive or not, but it is the continuation of the experiment I was seeking to participate in.

Hopefully everyone can find what they are looking for and be successful with it

Sort:  

If we don't trust them on Hive, we remove their witness votes and either start competition or vote for competition. This is the social experiment I was looking for when signing up with steem

I agree this. But judging from the actual things in recent years, most people don't have enough wisdom to choose the people they support. In top 50 witnesses, I think there are many witnesses taking bribes like voting the users who voted them.

For DPoS to complete it's experiment, genesis stake can't be held by the creators for use in governance.

I agree this. I think the top 20 witnesses has power and duty to limit these stake at the beginning time. But they didn't do that and got benefit from that. That's why I said this is a two standard. When Justin purchased Steem Inc. and then they limited the stake. I'm not the fan of Justin. It's just that the witness's disgusting approach to me made me stand on the opposite side of Hive. Before Ned sold compony, I have powed down my steem power. I saw no hope then. The version 0.22.2 made me looking more carefully for that. So I won't go to Hive. I stay here now just sympathy.

Wish your last words be true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67700.29
ETH 3795.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50