You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Now we are selling witness votes?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Isn't having a lot of steem kind of proof of brain?
For stupid people it is hard to earn enough steem to buy votes.
I don't know really what witnesses are so I might be way wrong here.
edit : Googled it, don't really understand still but a little. Shouldn't it solve the problem if they add a downvote button to the witness voting thing, so people can start downvoting people who gained witness status by buying votes.

Sort:  

to answer your first question, most definitely not... having lots of steem more often that not means you had money to begin with (of course there are exceptions) - Being an entrepreneur, creating a business model that allows you to gain a lot of STEEM would be though.

On what witnesses are, they are our block producers, but there are layers of the political kind that need to be explored for the subject to be understood.

There are writers who are probably better than myself at explaining these things, but this post here:
https://steemit.com/steem/@meno/thoughts-on-steem-s-complicated-politics-and-witnesses

Was my best attempt at describing the complicated system. Now, not the technicals of course, as these are less relevant to the populus, I'm more talking about the political aspects and how leadership gets elected.

Does proof of brain mean you are not an idiot? or that you are a real person?
I kinda semi understand what witnesses are now, thanks for the link!
It is still too complicated for me (proof of lack of brain haha >.<) to really understand all of it though.
Why don't you try running for witness? It seems like you understand it and want what is best for us (the steemit community).
If you do you can coun't on my vote (for what it is worth and if I have a vote).
Thanks for your reply.

To me proof of brain means socio-network capacity. So its not quality of content, but quality of interaction and relationship management.

But the definition itself is somewhat up to interpretation, it was probably designed this way with very little caveats.

Regarding me being a witness. I've considered it, but think that when the time is right, it might happen, however, I need to have something solid, a very solid project to even consider it seriously.

Ohh I was tottaly wrong, I thought proof of brain meant proof you had a brain haha. I get it now dumb question! I did learn soomething so I'm glad I asked. If you figure out something and decide to do it (run for witness) I wonder what your "very solid project" will be and how it will benefit us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66251.96
ETH 3068.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70