You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Like to Preach About Flagging Sometimes..

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

If you feel the need to remind me that flagging does pay, go ahead, but I happen to think that is one of the dumbest and most immature lines I've I've ever heard. it is just a cost of doing business.

Flagging does pay? Please, tell me more @whatsup preferably in less ambiguous terms. I'm not sure what you are talking about but think I might have an idea. Is you dispute against anyone trying to incentivize flags?

Do you think the upvote / downvote system is so balanced that such a thing is extraneous? If so, can point me to any flag that you got curation rewards from? I think that is a part of the problem. The inherent imbalance in the system where people must forego personal profit to keep things clear.

If you are one to flag, you care about the bigger picture but you know as well as I that the protocol is indifferent to this but should it pay like positive curation? Why shouldn't it? If everybody thinks only a handful of people should be cleaning the metephorical tables, they got it wrong. It's a a shared responsibility.

Sort:  

I don't care if it holds curation. I'm not looking for fast pennies, I want Steem to hold value.

If you really care about that, think you need to reevaluate your inclination towards lone wolf flagging.

Stray flags here and there are demonstrably less likely to curb behavior and that should be the goal with any abuser. It's the analogous difference between pulling the weed at the root or not.

Focused and coordinated flagging team work is much more effective. Also, I would not underestimate the value of the community providing incentives for flagging in a manner that is more effective. Some people just don't understand or really care enough about long term sustainability. This kind may need a little nudge.

Should we have to pay people to do the right thing? Of course not but this is the reality we have been dealt so best we work with the cards we have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64052.62
ETH 2530.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65