You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Help! Why is it so hard to recruit new active users to Steemit!

in #steem7 years ago

There is nothing wrong with you, but you are going after the wrong target. Check out daily @penguinpablo reports for steemit. We get a flood of new people daily and 97% fail. I was helping 4 people here over the last few weeks and all were good and all stopped posting.

You are wasting your time to go after any outside target while you can easily catch a few of those who are here trying and who might fail otherwise.

Let the @jerrybanfield's spend their resources to get people in here - we are a tough room and 100's of people get the door slammed in their face daily. See @archange reports for the tragic state of minnows here.

For you - focus on some minnows who are here and trying. The rep of 45-55 is a good place to start. I'm sure you have a good enough upvote that simply supporting a few of those people and helping them grow will be much more effective than you dragging in someone that really does not want to try. A person with a 52 rep is generally trying like hell and would really appreciate a boost from you in:

  • commenting on their posts
  • upvoting their posts and or comments
  • intros to your circle
  • helping them improve their work

I know you want to help those around you but I'm sorry - you can't. Only they can make the leap. I am a weight loss success story who was obese and near death in a small town for about 15 years. Then I became thin and healthy in a four year period by learning healthy habits and sticking to them.

This was 8 years ago and not one person from that town or in my family or other friends has even read my books or visited my sites or watched a video. Almost no one congratulated me when I lost weight. They could care less that I'm still thin and healthy 8 years later while they are fatter and getting hip replacements. Everyone I knew who was fat and sick when I lost weight is still fat and sick or dead now.

So how can I be a weight loss coach with all this failure? It's because all of the success I've had with random people who find me on the internet and beg for help, or cry out their story, or tell me they will do any thing to improve and succeed. Those people are easy to help and I do it all the time.

This goes for steemit as well. I have friends here who I've helped with a lot of the details of doing well on this site and they far exceed my results. Now I have those connections of people with bigger reps than me who I met when we were equal or they were smaller.

Focus on the people swimming in this stream and not the ones outside of it and you have a better (not guaranteed) chance of success. As for the people outside - I recommend not talking to them about steemit unless they ask to protect your own sanity.

I did get my son to sign up here and do a few posts and got him set up on the @steemdunk voting bot. Now at least he is growing his sp and voting daily. If he ever comes in for real's at least he will have a bit of a jump in sp and rep. You could try to do that with your inert friends and at least get their votes :)

Sort:  

Very wise words, focus on the people trying! This should be a post just by itself.

I managed to get 1 friend on, but he still hasn't done anything, so I've effectively given up, it would be great to have more people here but like you said focus on the people here and make it a great place so others may want to join.

Yes, I think we are best to focus on the willing. This is not an easy place by any means and many minnows are posting great content to no one :(

I think this is great advice, thank you for stopping by. In fact I do actively curate minnows and new users is it a passion of mine here. I'm often providing some tips and advice, resteeming and blogging about others. I've committed to delegating over half my steem power to community support project, but there's always more I could be doing. I shall try harder to help new members. I've decided to follow everyone that left a comment here today and will start with that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58971.18
ETH 3225.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29