You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHAT THE F*CK IS DTUBE FOR?

in #steem6 years ago

I don’t really want to navigate this complicated system of discord channels and shilling to get them

You have to do that shilling here (and on any platform) or you get nowhere. Make a 15 minute marketing effort for each video you publish and this will get better. Aside from discord - fb groups, twitter and linkedin work for this place.

#snapcommentfeedback

Sort:  

There is a large difference in my eyes between promoting to get engagement and spamming 80 different Discord channels to get on a vote trail to get big votes. I’m not here for some big payday. I’m here for the engagement and what I’m noticing is that because so much on here is automated vote trails that even a big upvote has no guarantee of having any real engagement. For instance, my big Curie vote from last week netted over 800 upvotes, but only one substantive comment from outside my current circle of regular commenters. I agree with spending a little time sharing your work with people and not just hoping good things will come with no effort, but the current incentive structure feels off and I think that lack of substantive feedback and engagement is driving many people off this platform.

Just my 2 cents. I know I probably sound bitter but I’m mostly just this guy who has an idea of what I would like this platform to be (a place where historically underpaid creatives could thrive) and just a little frustrated it isn’t moving in the direction that made me want to join to begin with. Lately, It just feels like a place where people talk about Steem. It’s like going onto FB and people only discussing the current state of FB. Still with all that said, thanks for the feedback and cutting through my cynicism a little bit.

Posted using Partiko iOS

bad thing is when the engagement is merely for upvotes ending up in a shallow ass-kissing without any kind of constructive feedback that's easily perceived as vote-begging by anyonw with two fingers of forehead. Same as wirh content creation when you adjust so much to what the crowd wants that it clearly says you are doing it for the money. Hell I could have written fucking EDM tracks instead of techno, but did I want to do that?. Fuck no!. I would have felt miserable as hell. I wonder if Pollock or Picasso or even Aphex Twin or Juan Atkins ever adjusted their artwork to what the crowd wanted. Hell no. They did what they wanted to. If they wouldn't have done what they wanted they wouldn't have been innovators, they would just have been another brick in the wall.

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly. This is a pretty common trait with those in the techno community. We see pandering and we immediately take a dislike to it. I’m going to go out on a limb and say we’d get along in real life pretty well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44