From Softcore to Hardcore: Are Your STEEM Funds Safe?

in #steem4 years ago

I'm not a financial expert. I'm not a coder. I'm not influential. But I am a curious person, always seeking to understand something... anything! I love investigating, researching and conceptualizing.

So as I tip-toe throughout this maze of blockchain drama, I'm asking myself some important questions. Are my STEEM tokens safe?!

The foundation of the cryptocurrency movement has always been based on the principle that your digital money is safer than with the older financial systems. As long as you keep your Keys in a safe place, your funds can't be touched.

So Justin Sun acquires a nice chunk of STEEM, and because of the fear of what he might do with those funds, a group of people within the Steem blockchain figured out a way to clone and soft-fork the entire system, freezing the funds of certain accounts. From what I understand, this soft-fork now becomes a new blockchain.

My question is this, what if the 20 Witnesses decided to do this on the Steem blockchain? They could effectively freeze anyone's accounts. What if there were not enough Witnesses on hand to maintain the previous system? Can you see where I'm going with this?

The creators of HIVE exploited a tactic that they should have dedicated themselves to making sure could never happen. I'm beginning to question whether 20 Witnesses are enough to safeguard our blockchain.

The very idea, the very thought of freezing anyone's account, is diabolical! I could never support such an idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89