I thought I was done with steemit

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I'm not.

At the very least I'll be finishing up some platform-related tools with steemdb (thanks @furion). Quite possibly, I'll be doing much more. My error wasn't in pointing out issues with Steemit, but instead in the conclusion those issues led me to make-- that I was better off without steemit.

This is the best damn platform for getting your ideas heard that exists.

Please know that I'm not building anything to displace steemit, as it is too fundamentally revolutionary to displace.

With no further ado, I request you turn your eyes to the real treat:

https://steemit.com/beyondbitcoin/@faddat/the-challenges-of-our-time

Sort:  

Mind sharing why you think you'd be better off with steemit?

I'd be happy to.

  1. I've come to rely on steemit as my personal content platform.
  2. The community
  3. The concepts, the sweet, sweet, (albeit fundamentally corrupted) concepts....
  4. Inertia

In principle I agree but the project of converting the witness to a "fabric" is going to be expensive and slow. Also as you may agree, prior to that resteucture, adding smart contracts will tend to be deprecated for refining existing ones. Which is why I am building a fabric type chain up from scratch. Steem's blockchain is gonna grow bigger rally fast. If it was broken into subchains this load would be dispersed more allowing more witnesses to handle a bigger, parallelised block schedule.

But nothing on the internet fills the gap that Steem does, so it will be a couple of years before anything better appears.

What language are you using?

Some from-scratch is needed, with particular emphasis on economics. Killing SP 1.0 killed something in steemit's DNA, and it hain't been the same since.

PS: for the love of god.....
github.com/tendermint/tendermint

and if you want to dev chains, then figure out how to get thy to Siem Reap, Cambodia.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.92 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30