[GIVING BACK] Free Forever: Steemit / Steem-related app hosting in Docker containers

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Last night

I had a really fantastic conversation with @roadscape about sidechains, smart contracts, and Docker containers / containerization & virtualization in general. I told him about some ideas I had, but today I had another idea, and I'm launching it right this second. It goes like this: Steem has so far given me about $10,000 for my ideas and opinions. That's $10,000 more than any other social media site, ever.

@rampant and I would like to give something back

So, if you make a steem app and you'd like it dockerized for free, please just reply to this with the URL of your repo. I'll get a PR filed for a Dockerfile ASAP, and in addition to that, if you run one of these various awesome steem-related web apps, I'd like to give you hosting, free, forever. All we've got to do is set up a Dockerfile for your app and a docker-compose.yml for any DBs you may need (and I'll gladly do the work if you describe their topology) and it'll be working, ready to automatically update at each push.

  • Note: There's just one exclusion, which would be apps that mine, for reasons which are probably obvious ;).

@rampant and I would like to give even more back

If it's on the server side of things, I'd like to help you with it. I'm a linux+docker geek through and through and I'm here to help, motivated by the kick-ass nature of this here community. So if there's something blocking the flow of your dev process or your deploy process, we're around and stating for the record that we're at your disposal.

feel free to contact me directly at [email protected] (I prefer google hangouts) or +84 096 111 3075.

Apps we will be dockerizing

AppAuthorLanguageStatus
steem-api@fabiennodejsDelayed
pistonxerocpythonin progress
steem-autovote-botmatthewniemergpythonin progress

Some Illustrations to Simplify:

54a1f9.png
4592775246_7f39213a9d64333.jpg
elk-stack-3d-diagram-18a0ba.png

Here's what we're hosting for free: Your whole app, from end to end with no exceptions as long as it fits into a "steem application ecosystem." We don't do mining apps because they'd eat our compute resources and then we couldn't do other apps.

We want to make your development faster and better!
We want to enable you to be free of your server architecture, and think only about your application!
We want to make arduous database configuration a thing you heard about once but don't remember anymore!

We will never charge you a single penny for these services, because we like Steemit.

Includes but is in no way limited to:

  • Rocket.Chat
  • Mattermost
  • Drupal
  • Wordpress
  • Ghost
  • BigBlueButton
  • Kamilio
  • Moodle
  • Loomio
  • Etherpad
  • Ethersheet
  • Wikis
  • Your own customized code

--if it can run on a linux server, and you want to use it to bolster steemit, we want to host it for you, for free, end of story.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32