[AMERICA] Just leave, now. You'll be better off because you did.

in #steem8 years ago

no pics no tits no bullshit: a bullshit a bulleted list of the ways my life has improved since leaving the United States.

  • My mental health is better. This is the biggest change. I dont know what the hell is in the water in the US, but I'm sure there's something.

  • I don't watch television.

  • I never drink soda.

  • The food I eat is mostly non-gmo.

  • I'm not being constantly bombarded with messages of my inadequacy from the media.

  • My peers don't pull any punches.

  • I came to the healthy and sane realization that my world was largely my doing... Except in the states. They've got that shit on lockdown.

  • Once the fog cleared (this in my case took 90 days or so) I had the kind of ambition and drive that I'd only heard of in the past.

  • I take 0 prescription drugs.

  • If I smoke weed you can bet your ass it's recreational, and mostly i don't.

  • I no longer give half of what I own to drop bombs largely on innocents in unjustifiable wars.

  • I don't pay the psychic price of those wars either.

  • I realized that the news was freer..... IN CHINA.

  • I actually feel concerned for my friends and family who live in the states.

  • I'm not as fat. I'm still a little bit heavy, and ive got a gut, but the character of my body has changed. It's not doughy and ive muscles.

  • Looking back I don't know what the hell I was doing while in the US.

are you in North America and suffering?

LEAVE. TODAY.

It'll be the best choice you ever make.

Sort:  

So true, ever since i moved out of the US i haven't looked back.... 3 years so far and cant say i miss anything....

Well that sounds fabulous. Where did you go! I loved your list.

Believe it or not, I went to China in 2012. These days I live in Vietnam, and I'm headed out to @steemitcity in Siam Reap, Cambodia shortly. I can't really say that it's a very grounded living for me, but I can say that it is overall a far better living.

And yes, I do miss my family.

And yes, I think the fact that I miss them, and am still here, speaks volumes about the level of totally fucked the USA is lingering at these days. Eg: 110% fucked.

I've left the US also, but several of these points don't make sense to me.

  1. Regarding food, it can be pretty hard to find healthy food in Asia, especially China. foods tend to be fat and carb heavy and low on expensive protein.
  2. I don't think gmo food has been proven to have any negative effects on people, and are you sure you're really avoiding it in Asia. for example, China is a big importer of our soybeans, and probably other commodities as well.
  3. There's not much in the US that is really forcing you to watch TV, nor to drink soda.
  4. Smoking weed is much more risky in Asia
  5. Your peers don't pull any punches? Really? In Asia?
  6. Lockdown. This is mostly about you having more money than people where you are. For everyone else, it's very much locked down.

I hope you'll note I did not at any time say I smoked weed in Asia.

  • You can totally get healthy food in China.
    • You cannot get healthy food in the giant cities in China. If your girlfirend's family grew it or killed it, it's probably excellent.
  • I didn't drink much soda in the US. But looking back on it there are countless times I drank that instead of anything else simply because of its omnipresence. No, there is no soda nazi forcing you to guzzle (yet).
  • That's right. Well, okay maybe not in China. In China they think they are being direct, when actually they might, for example, try to tell you you've got spinach between your teeth by saying "Hello! How are you?" or similar. Okay, mabye not that indirect, but pretty damn indirect.
    • not every place is China.
  • Dude, it's so not about the money, or about a "relative wealth gap." Sorry you've found that to be the case.

Haha, oddly enough I find it easier to find quality food in China's bigger cities. Lijiang and Kunming were a struggle for me compared to Shenzhen or Shanghai.

You can also get clean water for free in all US restaurants. In many parts of Asia, you have to buy bottled water, which is often hardly cheaper than soda.

My experience has been that most people in Asia are too passive and prefer to avoid any confrontation, whereas Americans are very outspoken, or downright aggressive. Especially at the airport. When you go back to the US to visit your family, you'll probably find yourself being questioned far more than any other country you visited and weren't even a citizen of.

Maybe you can elaborate on the lockdown point. My point is just that in terms of economic mobility for the local population, the US is better than most of Asia.

Btw, I'm not really trying to pick apart your post. I'm just trying to increase my reputation on here so that maybe one day my stuff will get seen. ._.

The clean water in the US has also been purposely contaminated with Fluoride (itself toxic) in the form of industrial waste products such as Hydrofluoro-Silicic Acid.

You can see a video on YouTube of this chemical added to your water burning through concrete when spilled.

When the OP said there must be something in the water, he was right.

I don't know if they're doing the same thing in China, but probably not. Although I have heard of unsafe levels of fluoride in rural areas in China, it wasn't purposely added.

If you want to get down to brass tacks, I find I am far less docile here. For all the shit taking place stateside these days, they probably do need to ensure that people stay docile.

If you want to follow the american dream, move to Denmark.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55