Q: Will my post be shown in trending if I promote it with $1000? Do I need any votes from real people for it?

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I mean if I spent some money I want see my post in hot or even in trending. Do I need any votes from real people for that? How will be curation rewards distributed if some users vote for my promoted post.

UPD: I think that my question is related to -this-.

Sort:  

Promotion doesn't go towards voting totals. It's only by accumulating more and more Steem Powered Upvotes that a post can trend up.

The promotion feature is there for visibility (keeping it on one page where a lot of eyes can/ will see it).

ASAIK from here, at the moment promotinal cost of an article isn't been used to rank it on /trending page. IMHO it should be changed, otherwise it doesn't make sense to spend money on such 'promotion'.

It can pay off to promote, but there is definite risk of spending money to promote without any return.

What's interesting about it is a $40 promotion could lead to hundreds of dollars worth of upvotes, while a $1,000 promotion might only get a few cents to a few dollars. It all comes down to getting enough eyes to see the right type of content (know the trends!!!).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72