You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What does an upvote mean to me? No necessarily "agree."

in #steem8 years ago (edited)


As you said
sometimes that value is somebody making me think, even if I don't agree with them.
Ah.
And there's the sticking point.
A large number of Steemers (if not the majority of them)
have FaceBook experience.
They conflate the FaceBook like with the SteemVote.
.
You said
After all, we learned long ago on Facebook that a "Like," doesn't mean we literally LIKE the news that your dog had to go the vet. Social gestures have long had multiple interpretations. Maybe it's just this heated election year that's making me think about this, but it's important to distinguish the various possible interpretations of how we communicate.
.
I don't think so.
I don't think most (many?) people have learned

Sort:  

I also see on twitter people put in the brief profile "like doesnt = agree"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72