Sort:  

Thanks, I'm not sure if a video makes things easier here, it's all just typing commands and what I describe here assumes that you have your on steem node running, which would be the first step.
Since there currently, as far as I'm aware, are no binary releases, you will have to start by compiling steem https://steem.io/documentation/how-to-build/ .
When you have your steem-node running, I would recomend this documentation to get started with the api: https://github.com/steemit/steem/blob/master/doc/api-notes.md
I'm not sure what the long term plans are here, but at the moment steemd (the node you can run on your own) is not very user friendly, it seems like the focus is more in making the steemit.com website a good user expirience at the moment.
But if your main interest is in getting original posts, I think there soon will be web sites/blockexplorer that allow that, probably before building and running nodes gets any easier.

Thanks @m0se , I may check it out just to flex these finger muscles

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17