You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update: Communities/Hivemind

in #steem6 years ago

Good work :)

Where are the tags / categories hidden in the announcement above?

Will API calls to filter posts by tag still hide past posts like they do now? Or will ALL posts that use a tag searched for be returned?

Thank you very much for your reply.

Sort:  

Hive currently stores up to the first 5 tags per post, but right now the API only queries the first. There is no limit on age of posts. We can improve tag support, but I think it's more important to focus on communities for organization. Tags are better suited for a search engine (probably a separate service, but could be integrated with hive).

Thank you very much for your reply. Understood - hive is for communities :)

Besides, my question wasn't clear enough.

What I am saying is that NOW API calls for any 'tags' queries don't return all the posts with the tags, queried by. The results don't include every post with specific tag. Is this by design?

Are you referring to already paid-out posts? If so, this is by design; steemd nodes keep all these stats in memory, so it's too expensive to keep all old posts around for tag lookup. If you are seeing pending posts not showing up in API results then it sounds like a bug!

I am certain that not all old posts show up when you filter by certain tag. I suspected that this is by design and now you confirmed it. I don't like it but understand the logic behind it.

I am not certain about the posts which are yet to be paid out. I will check it. If I find out that some posts, younger than seven days, are not displayed in the list, I will let you know.

Thanks for your reply.

Lucene.net, anyone?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98