You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF21/HF22: Back in the Game! Let's Take Steem to the Next Level?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

That was very interesting to read.
And in particular I enjoyed myself! How refreshing, your way of writing. In particular your self reflection.

And: LOL, the Dunning–Kruger effect, thanks for that link. It happens to me too often.

I hope it irritates you when I say that there is no such thing as impartiality or that it is almost impossible to be impartial. In my career I did a module on "mediation" (Attention: not meditation!) and learned there that someone who listens to the interests of disputants must be "all-party".

This is a very unusual way of being in contact with people (your habit doesn't like it and tries to fight it). You are encouraged to always take sides emotionally with the person you are talking to (a small paradox when talking about neutrality). If you turn to the other party, it is the same.

Then how does it go to come to an agreement and a decision? The mediator first collects the complaints, he signals to everyone that from his perspective the complaint is comprehensible (it always is). The client feels taken seriously.

Then it goes into the collection of concerns and possible solutions. All these activities take place under the moderation of the mediator, so he has received an official mandate. From both sides.

If you have ever tried something like this, you will notice that you are always taking sides internally and you are inclined to vote for one tendentially or even strongly. But the moment when you catch yourself is the tip of the tongue. You let go of this impulse and say to yourself: I am not making the decision here. I serve the good will of those who gave me the mandate.

Not sure, if ever some one will be a millionaire that way. Probably not on purpose. I'd like this place much better if it wasn't so much about money. The interesting entrepreneurs of our time and history were often people who wanted a truly fantastic product and the more people were benefited, the better. But social media is now over a decade old and people learned through role models and media consumption/politics before. It's impulse driven. I would like to have an artificial "halt" between the buttons and me. More time, as you say. Not only in posting and curating and all that jazz. But in stopping myself from over reacting and judging.

I wrote a lot of stuff you might be interested in. But I must say, despite your words, the habit is here never go back to a post which is older than 7 days. I do not know myself to be that way. But somehow it also influenced me and I explain it by the really really bad research function on the steemit interface. Also no blogging standard whatsoever (I am coming from WordPress).

Be assured I read your article with care. I am saying that because you might think I didn't as I seem to talk about "my stuff".


edit: you might ask why I mention mediation. I refer to your work as a witness. You guys are seen not as only tech people but also carrying opinion role modeling and political work.

Sort:  

That's why I was careful to say "try" lol, although I've done these things before and as you said, certainly not the best way to make it big. And I'd be kidding myself if I think I could be consistent all the time, so in the case of Steem, at least there's the rest of the network to keep each other honest if I fail to do so.

Yup, I remember coming across one of your posts a couple weeks ago when I got back into looking around. And please let me know if you've any good ideas for an interface! Btw (I've already mentioned this in the post above), you might want to check this out. I think you'll be interested seeing that you've been thinking about these things, going by your comment. Thanks for dropping by!

Don't even try to be neutral, be all-party :) LOL - That is, how I understand TAU. I came across TAU about a year ago and don't know exactly what to think about it. It sounds good, but I haven't decided how to look at it yet.

I think what people are afraid of is the result of their collected opinions when they are evaluated. You always think that the others are stupider or more selfish than you are. Having confidence in the many is only possible if these many get a framework for sensible decisions. Not on the basis of an impulsive opinion, but on the basis of a balance that reflects the least inner resistance.

It's about having confidence in people, even though they seem idiotic and you have a real aversion to them on the surface.

The basis is often mistrust and so it sounds from the social media channels that the only way to deal with each other is through reward and punishment. We all know that this is not the case. The best way to deal with each other is to impute to the other the same curiosity, fascination and ability that this person might have.

As long as there is no TAU, I plead for experiments that are much easier to implement. Please look at systemic consensus, I think you will immediately see the advantage. I try to run experiments here, but so far got not enough participants to make an interesting evaluation. Though I will do with the last one, just to give credit to the people who voted.

Would you like to do a collaborative post with me about this? We could mix TAU and systemic consensus, if they fit together. I need some help in order to spread the idea.

May I ask where you are located?
Greetings from Hamburg!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64