First thrilling experience of buying STEEM. AKA anxiety inducing experience.

in #steem7 years ago

Stuck in The Upside Down

Today I bought my first STEEM and it was a very exciting moment. Not because of the buy itself, noooo nothing so mundane. No it was for the simple fact that for next 45 minutes, my money was stuck in ** The Upside Down, Limbo, The Netherrealm** or wherever one calls the place where money disappears into a black hole.


upside down


Unprepared

I followed my brothers explanation of going to bitonics.nl select an amount of euro's to pay then paste the code I got from Blocktrades so the bought amount of btc would automatically be converted and deposited in my STEEMwallet.

Of course he did mention the fact that there would be a delay between buying and it showing up in the wallet.

I was not prepared for this shit.
I had NO indication this was going to be ok. No automatic email from bitonics, no heads up from Steemit ... nothing. Money transferred all based on me entering the right username on blocktrades ...
My palms were turning sweaty, heartbeat through the roof.

Knees weak, arms heavy ...

My money was untracable for at least 45 minutes. And I just had to have faith that it would turn ip somewhere.


anxious


Hoops

I think the above is one of the reasons cryptocurrency is taking so long to take root. There's just so many hoops to jump trough, so much ways to go about it, all sorts of things that can go wrong.
I mean why do I need to buy bitcoin if I want Steem. It makes mo sense.
Also, when a wallets can hold any coin (instead of a handfull most of them can right now) This may be my misunderstanding of crypto talking though
In short, buying crypto would be a lot easier / clearer, then we'd see it go supersonic.

Hello old new friend

After an enormously long period of time (or so my imagination led me to believe), my money showed up in my wallet, as if nothing was the matter, business as usual. I gues that it was.

I'm just glad that it made it out of the void and back into my wallet so I could be like a super here and Power up



Full STEEM ahead my fellow Steemians

Sort:  

Wow. Talking about moving at lightning speeds. Congrats on your first buy!

Thanks. It was a memorabele experience to say the least 😊

Congrats on your first buy Bro! Welcome to the altcoin world!

So glad you explained it and gave me headsup on the void. Thanks bro.

Anytime bro.

More fear than pain in the end :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 66884.44
ETH 3466.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19