You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Editing Other Photographer's Photos And Posting Them As Your Own.

in #steem5 years ago

Depends on how creative a person is. If they take 3 or four photos, chop em up and make something entirely new, I can't really give credit to the photographers for their art. But in your instance given, where it is just a filter or crop, by all means, credit should be given where it is due. I know sites like deviantart or splashbucket, many of the artists or photogrpahers have things like free to use or free to use with credits. Same in the music industry. I look for free beats quite a bit for jams and such and if there is nothing that says please give me credit for this piece, I don't bother. The last one I did, I used from Vendetta Beats who are pretty big on YouTube. They put out tons of free to use material but ask for credits.

Sort:  

There are many different scenarios here, I know! The instance I was referring too, is the one that was happening. I still like to source where I get a photo, gif, or whatever, from anyway unless I take it myself at this point. I mean if you spent the time to search for a photo or something, what is 30 seconds to add a source to that photo? I guess, if they do not ask for credit then it might not matter to them if you do or not. There are many free to use with no credit required, Yes, personally I like to just go ahead and include a source that way there is no questions asked. It is a matter of opinion, that is what it really boils down too.

If you are entering a contest and it requires a photo you took yourself, don't cut up someone else's work and pass it as your own! I mean in life we have our word and our integrity, a few prizes from photo contest here are not worth giving that up, just my opinion though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65520.16
ETH 2652.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87