Steem on Netcoin: Steem Should Have Done A Lot Better

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

entrepreneur-3404056_640.jpg

Right now steem has taken the lead after a brief slump that saw Verge overtake us. Truth be told, I am a bit relieved that we are back on top, but I am really disappointed how badly we have performed so far.

Considering the fact that one is allowed to vote everyday, and the multiple accounts operated by users on this platform - it will be interetsting to know the exact figures concerning the amount of unique persons on the platform that have voted so far. I will put it at somewhere around 2000 - 3000, which may in fact be an overestimation.

Like Tarazkp stated we should be doing a lot better considering the amount of users we claim are on the platform and the grand vision we have for this place. We cannot be revolutionizing anything if two years on we still have less than enough users that fit a D - League NBA game.

It really does bother me sometimes if steemit has reached its absolute peak, and is now experiencing a decline. We all have high hopes for this place but is it really based on realistc expectations considering how much floundering has happened so far?

I am under no Illusion of how mainstream/mass adoption would come. I do not think we will sleep and wake up to 20 Million users overnight; so if we are to see such growth the signs should be well in place by now.

Barring any last minutes setbacks again, steem should win the Netcoin Listing, but rather than celebrate I can't help but feel the contest leaves some painful realities as to the communities current state.

Sort:  

Hollow Victory at best. Will stats come out on those of us who voted, that would be interesting!

Precisely my thoughts

My feelings exactly.Divide 8600 by 4 and that gives you just over 2000 people out of a so called 16 000 posting pool. They all want the benefits but aren't prepared to do anything to help. We should have walked this. i still believe that there are many accounts who aren't even aware of the contest. These accounts stay on their page and no other world exists. These accounts are old users who think they are the bees knees and it makes me sick. They honestly don't really care.

You’re really contributing to bee knee insecurity.

What if a bee’s knees aren’t that great? Any idea how insecure that bee feels because of this meme?

Lol. Just want us to win this and move forward slowly.

Funny on one hand I was happy with how many people posted it about it, but yeah... We have a lot who just show up to make their posts and don't get involved in supporting building the platform. It bothers me too.

What is surprising is that despite the publicity this is how much we can muster

I have been thinking about this all day. It is a social MEDIA based blockchain!!! I must have seen a dozen different posts encouraging everyone to vote, and I resteemed a few of them. We have a HUGE advantage over users of other coins.

It is mind-boggling to me that the message either didn't get enough reach - or that the message didn't result in a larger community reaction.

It does look like we are going to win the contest, and that's great. But it makes me wonder. If dozens of Steem members blogged about the importance of the contest, and dozens more resteemed those posts, and the end result could be as little as 3000 unique voters, then honestly, how damn hard IS it, honestly, to get a decent return for a post?

I mean out of the 1600+ followers that I have, I get 3-4 regular upvoters and the same number who comment. I get between 5-10 votes who are from people who are not 'regulers'. I always reward my comments with an upvote - and thoughtful ones often get a substantial upvote.

Is there only 1% of us who are active?

Don't get me wrong, I believe we are on the cusp of some really good things here - but maybe we have a lot further to go than what I had realized.

You took the words right out of my mouth

howdy there empress! I agree with you and all the comments, should have blown verge out of the water. no excuse. I used 3 email accounts, I don't care if it creates a little spam.

Hi @empress-eremmy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.707 which ranks you at #4999 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 126 places in the last three days (old rank 5125).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #37.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74