Whale Sonar v1.0 beta release. [New Web App presentation]

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians. 

SteemIt is the ocean, ocean of blockchain. Each of us steemians is a particle of this ocean and each particle contributes and makes SteemIt ocean prosperous.

Everyone knows Steem's ocean life hierarchy. The main pool of rewards for your posts are given by dolphins, killer whales and whales.  I'm almost sure that every author would like to know the moment when these guys are most active.

Whould you like to see how does SteemIt works?

SteemIt Ecosystem visualization. 



Now it became possible by Whale Sonar - Web Application that helps to observe the activity of curators. And this is the first step to great functionality. 

Whale Sonar will be usefull for:


  • At first for authors. Before posting your awesome content it's better to open Whale Sonar and listen (yes, you can also to listen to it ). The authors with numerous subscribers as rule is not worried about the zero rewards, but for new authors it is very important to post at the time of most curators activity.
  • New users. They have not fully imagine how does Steem works. Whale Sonar will help to understand some basic processes are taking place in Steem depths.
  • Of course curators. When authors knows your best activity time, so more content will appear at  convenient time for you. Also you can see "curator trains".
  • And finally, Whale Sonar can be used instead of a marine aquarium.

Functionality


Actualy Whale Sonar is beta version and has very basic functionality.

  • Filter curators by Steem Power 
  • Whale animation. Each whale, orca, dolphin represents certain curator which upvote an author in current moment of time.
  • Sound alerts dependly of curator's level (by his totemic animal =)

 Roadmap. 

Some nearest updates what I will do in Whale Sonar:

  • Upvote animation. 
  • More different filters, blacklists etc.
  • Curation trains detection.
  • Convenient statistics of upvotes for your last posts in real time.
  • I will teach dolphins and, perhaps, killer whales how to do more impressive tricks .

I will publish releases and tell you about them, so do not miss it and follow me.

Under the hood. 

I decided to use CSS  keyframes to animate objects - the most optimal solution in terms of performance. In the alpha version, I animated objects by jQuery, but in peak hours my i3 processor could not handle behaviour of hundreds of creatures which appear on the screen.

The project is beta version and there are some not critical bugs. The source code will be on Github after some bugs will be fixed.

Hardware and software requirements:

  • The processor is i3 or higher (or similar from other manufacturers).
  • Browsers that support keyframes:

And of course, your comments are welcome!

Whale sonar page (temporary while)


Enjoy!


Sort:  

Cool idea! Will add to this to my bookmarks, maybe I can become a whale whisperer ;)

ok, I like this lol. Even if i am not interested really in chasing whales, this is a good visual for seeing the overall activity on steemit in general!

yea very funny and very good! I like it!

Very cool idea. Thank you. I hope you keep using your talents to develop in the Steem ecosystem!

Thank you @donkeypong, I will try my best)

Please feel free to contact me on Steemit.chat. It's nice to talk to developers.

lol I find it a bit ironic that after developing a whale stalker you choose to drive attention to it through a transaction. :P

I'm usually always available on steemit.chat in the future. :)

@acidyo, thank you. I have choosed that way because my followers activity do not promise to be good :)

I understand, its fine.

I am following too many people lately to catch all posts not to mention the increase in activity!

That is so cool! Thanks for sending me the link.
Definitely upvoted! Looking forward to reading more about it.

Thanks

Looks awesome! I'm gonna try this out. :D

Im confused. but i like the idea

Confused by ? ))

Looking for the 'resteem' icon... refusing to be daunted by technology...grateful to you techno-gurus. Dang. You make it look so easy... Now Following elviento!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29