Steem Power Delegation Guide|How to get SP Delegation from Whales & Dolphins|Minnows Guide 101

in #steem6 years ago

20180411_203229_0001.png

While I am really enjoying sharing my tutorial findings with everyone on here, I must admit I didn't expect I'd enjoy it as much as I am. Helping myself as I help others is probably on of the most fulfilling feeling this platform has to offer.

When it comes to this series of tutorials, I usually don't do it for others, it's mainly purposed to educate me on topics I usually struggle with. I do my research, read as much as I can and eventually pen down a summary of what I have learnt and understood.*

Before I cover today's topic of interest, I'd like to say a big THANK YOU to everyone who cheers me on.

T.R.U.S.T

This is what is going to form the basis of today's topic.

It's not everyday when you meet really gracious people online who are willing to selflessly give a part of themselves to you. It takes a leap of faith on their part, a whole lot Trust in you & probably abit of confidence coupled with belief in what you have to offer. What I'm I talking about?

.....Delegation...

How you get some Steem Power delegation pretty much depends on what you have to offer in terms of quality content,your personality and partly how you present yourself.

For today's topic, I will particularly be focusing on some aspects of Steem Power delegation and offer some guidelines to those who maybe seeking a willing delegator.But before we get started, I always like to start with the basics, I don't like to assume that everyone who reads my post is well equipped with the right information.

What is Steem Power Delegation?

Steem Power is basically influence tokens that show the amount of influence a user has on the Steem network. The more Steem Power you have the more influence your comments and upvotes have and the more Curation Rewards you receive.

Delegated Steem Power on the other hand is Steem Power that has beem assigned to you for use by another user. It's more like a donation.

Pro's of Delegated Steem Power

  • When you are delegated to Steem Power, your content votes and curation rewards are calculated as if it was your own Steem Power. Hence, it's a great & faster way to accumulate more Steem Power.

  • Sometimes if you are lucky enough, Steemit delegates a small portion of Steem Power to new accounts. You probably should check your wallet if you havent yet :)

Con's of Delegated Steem Power

  • You can not power down(liquidate) delegated Steem Power because essentially it still belongs to the original owner.

  • Delegators have the potential and right to take away delegated Steem Power in a process that takes about 7 days.

  • You cannot re-delegate Steem Power that's been delegated to you, only SP that you own.

In my personal opinion, the Pro's outweigh the Con's. Delegation gives one the opportunity to grow much faster than they would if they didn't have any Steem Power.

The Question then now becomes, as a Newbie or even a Minnow, how do you strategically position yourself as a viable delegatee for Whales, Dolphins or even fellow Minnows to consider?

1. Actively Participate & Be Yourself..

When I started out in this platform 3 months ago, I had no clue on how to get started, as do most people. The first 2 months I was on & off, mostly making comments, reading other peoples content and not creating my own. I figured since I had alot of jitters and some writer's block, I would utilize my time by grasping the concept and getting to interact with others on the platform. Basically assume this was just like any other social media platform, be myself & give my utmost honest comments, afterall, I had nothing to loose but everything to gain.It came with no surprise that the more I did it,the more I enjoyed it and so I kept it up & vowed to stick to genuine commenting.

have-fun-and-actively-participate.jpg

It was during this period that I met my first 2 delegators @dynamicgreentk & @dynamicrypto. I'd be lying if I said I remember how it all went down until I got some delegation. At that moment in time I didn't even know anything about Steem Power let alone delegation, it's only after it happened in one of our casual conversations that I learned of such a thing.

From post commenting, to discord conversations, to meeting more amazing people at #DynamicSteemians discord by @dynamicgreentk to SP delegation, the rest is history..

My point is, don't be shy to freely express yourself and strike up conversation, you never know the kind of person you're talking to.

2. Genuinely take Interest in People's Journeys

It's not just about making comments and giving upvotes. If you are going to leave a lasting impression,invest your time in getting to know people on a more personal level. Dig dip as you can.

Where they come from. Their Background. How their Social Life is. Follow them on other social media platforms if you like. Know what interests them. What they have going on in their life. What their goals are on steemit. Anything really!

images (1).png
Source
You'd be suprised how much difference a genuine connection with a person can make. Besides that, it makes it so much easier to work together & form real friendships.I'm not saying I am extremely good at it, but as it is now, there are people on my team whom I can tell their mood just by how they reply to my DM's, only because I have taken my time to read into their personality. Try it.

3. Stand Out..

Yes, you may actively participate and get to know people inside out, but that's just merely a tip of the ice berg. This is my personal opinion, but I feel like being exemplary good in what you do separates you from the flock. It allows for easier recognition & makes it so easy to be remembered.

standout-1024x646.jpg
Image Source

Let me give you a quick example of what I mean. I'll reference our discord #DynamicSteemians..

  • If I was in a position where I needed a quick yet highly creative graphic design work done, only two people come to mind, @baa.steemit & @nikema. Not because there aren't any other designers on there, but because they have strategically positioned themselves & stood their ground.
  • In another instance, if I am having challenges in terms of photography or generally need advice in that sector then I would definitely contact @scottshots
  • For Dtube, Dlive or any Vlogging guidance then I'm without a doubt @divard got me covered.
  • For Crypto advice & current updates then I'd only need to watch @bebeomega 's videos or drop him a call if it's urgent.
  • For Days when I need abit more inspiration to write or overcome a writer's block then I only need to check in with our writing class director @ntowl.
  • @thundercurator is our manual human bot who keeps us motivated to write quality content for high upvotes & always lends us a listening ear while @maxwell got me covered on the days when I need to unwind with some good good music, he is practically our inhouse Dj :)

To bring my point home, I am merely saying every Steemit discord community or any other steemit community is in search of people who will add value to it. Yours is just to stand out & do the best you can in terms of your content & partly how you present yourself.

Assuming you do follow this guidelines and manage to get yourself some delegation, what then?

Give Back..

By suporting your team in terms of upvotes- after all, not all will be fortunate to get some delegation and that doesnt necessarily mean they aren't doing better content than you. Always remember to send the elevator back down,thats a quote I live by.

By always curating quality content- Don't just curate for the sake of it, make your vote count!

final-thoughts-clipart-1.jpg

Source
I have been fortunate to have 3 delegators so far. It's not because I am extra special or anything. Infact, one of the people who have delegated to me we have never had a conversation, I don't know who they are, I tried writing a memo but never a reply. I assume they must have come across my posts and felt compelled to help me, and for that, I am grateful.
It's been a steep learning curve. Initially I didn't have the right knowledge on how to handle my Voting Power or how it worked. If you do get the opportunity, I highly suggest you understand exactly How to Vote,When to Vote, & When to STOP.

Also learn how to maximize on your curation rewards with your delegated Steem Power.Once you have done this, I believe you can be unstoppable.

As always, Love & Light to You..

El.
elsiekjay.gif

3.gif

Sort:  

Nice @elsiekjay! Thank you for the delegation info. Yes, any time you have any photography related questions, please feel free to ask on the discord. Have a good one!

My pleasure Scot! :)

this is quiet helpful l liked the part of knowing people personally that very important

Yes it is. I am loving the process so far.

Great work.

Thank you for the support and daily motivation.

Wow! Very informative. I am now your follower. Thanks for this.

You are much welcome dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80